Connect with us

24H Series

GPX Porsche Wins 12H Coppa Florio Enduro at Enna

GPX Racing takes maiden 24H Series victory in championship’s first visit to Enna…

Photo: Petr Fryba/Creventic

GPX Racing’s Mathieu Jaminet, Robert Renauer, Frederic Fatien and Jordan Grogor dominated the inaugural running of Creventic’s 12H Sicily race to become the first winners of the historic Coppa Florio prize in almost 40 years.

The reigning Total 24 Hours of Spa-winning team dominated at Enna-Pergusa to notch up its maiden victory in 24H Series powered by Hankook competition, with its Porsche 911 GT3 R that was sporting a Gulf livery inspired by the Sicilian Targa Florio race.

Jaminet took the checkered flag with five laps in hand to the CP Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo which finished second in the hands of Charles Espenlaub, Charles Putman, Shane Lewis and Joe Foster.

GPX started from third on the grid but moved into the lead during Saturday’s six-hour segment of running.

The race resumed at 11 a.m. CEST on Sunday after an overnight break and the Porsche continued where it left off, setting the pace at the head of the field.

Behind it, CP Racing’s Mercedes spun at the restart after contact with the MP Motorsport Mercedes of Henk de Jong, Jaap van Lagen and Rik Breukers, but recovered to finish second and scoop the GT3-Am class accolade.

MP Motorsport’s race came undone when it encountered a shock absorber failure which cost the Dutch FIA Formula 2 team several laps.

Its AMG ultimately finished fifth overall, behind the Car Collection Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo of Michael Doppelmayr, Pierre Kaffer, Elia Erhart and Hendrik Still and the Dinamic Motorsport Porsche driven by Roberto Pampanini, Mauro Calamia and Matteo Malucelli.

Dinamic, which competes alongside GPX Racing in GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS Endurance Cup, claimed victory in the 991 class for Porsche Cup machinery.

The winning TCR entry came through one place behind the Porsche single-make winner in eighth overall.

Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing’s Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR led at the six-hour mark and successfully carried its first-half form over into Sunday.

The highest-placed GT4 machine was PROSport Racing’s Aston Martin Vantage GT4 of Nico Verdonck, Rodrigue Gillion and Tom Heeren which finished 10th outright.

At the head of the field, GPX Racing’s overall win determined the first recipient of the Coppa Florio trophy since 1981.

The historic competition, which has been held in various guises since 1905, hadn’t been contested for almost 40 years until race organizer Creventic revived the concept for this year.

RESULTS: Coppa Florio

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in 24H Series