Connect with us

24H Series

SPS Automotive Performance Mercedes Wins 12H Hungary

SPS Automotive Performance Mercedes wins in Hungary…

Photo: 24H Series/Eric Teeken

Photo: 24H Series/Eric Teeken

The 2014 12 Hours of Hungary was won by the No. 4 SPS Automotive Performance Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG, driven by Lance David Arnold, Valentin Pierburg, and Tim Müller.

They took the lead at about the two-thirds mark of the race after the long-leading No. 20 Stadler Motorsport Porsche had a series of problems with their braking system.

They finally decided that it was compromising the car’s safety and retired. It was doubly frustrating for the Swiss based team as they had hoped to finish the 24 Hour Series season finale with a victory that would have book-ended their year as they had won the opening round at Dubai.

Second overall was the No. 1 Hofor Racing entry which made it a Mercedes 1-2.

Most of the other class winners thoroughly dominated their respective categories for the nearly the entire duration. SP2, a mix of Porsche Cup cars and Specials was won by the No. 8 Team ZaWoTec Racing Porsche 997 GT3 Cup with Lukas Schreier, Daniel Uckermann, and Jürgen Daum driving.

They were challenged early on by the unique tubeframe Ford silhouette built by Marc Cars of Australia but that car retired after one of two minor accidents that took place during an otherwise very clean race.

The production based touring car A5 class was won by Team Altran of France. The Peugeot 208 GTi of Vincent Rademecker, Guillaume Roman, and Steven Palette ran so steadily and frugally that they were in fourth overall at the finish.

The Volkswagen Golf of KPM Racing of Great Britain won the mixed petrol and diesel D1 class in the hands of Tom Onslow-Cole, Jade Edwards, and Paul White. Edwards is a rising star among British female drivers and becomes one of the few women to have recorded a class victory at a major endurance race.

The race also featured three entries from Lithuania. All of them finished, elevating the status of Baltic region baed racers.

János Wimpffen is an American motorsport historian and journalist, contributing to Sportscar365's international coverage. He is the author of "Time and Two Seats" and numerous other award-winning books documenting the history of sports car racing.

Click to comment

More in 24H Series