Connect with us

24H Series

WTM Racing Takes Pole for 12H Spa

German Ferrari beats BoDa Bentley to dominant pole at Spa-Francorchamps…

Photo: 24H Series

WTM Racing will start the Hankook 12H of Spa-Francorchamps from pole position, thanks in large part to a fast flying lap by Daniel Keilwitz.

The German team’s No. 22 Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo 2020 set the fastest combined time in the nine-car GT3 field with a 2:20:498 thanks to Jochen Krumbach, Leonard Weiss and Keilwitz, who share the car with Georg Weiss for this weekend’s race.

The car topped each of the three separate sessions and already looked in good shape for pole position when it was definitively secured by Keilwitz, who set the fastest overall lap of the day by reeling off a 2:18:878.

Silver-rated Mark van der Aa, sharing the No. 6 BoDa by Bas Koeten Racing Bentley Continental GT3 with Bronze driver Bob Herber, was unable to match the Gold-rated Keilwitz.

A personal best lap from Van der Aa of 2:21.723 led to a combined time of 2:22:672 for the Dutch duo, over two seconds behind the pole-sitting Ferrari.

The No. 85 CP Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo driven by Charlie Putman, Charles Espenlaub and Shane Lewis completed the top three, followed by Daniel Allemann, Ralf Bohn and Jürgen Häring in the No. 91 Herberth Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Earl Bamber Motorsport made it two Porsches in the top five, as the No. 61 car of Adrian D’Silva, Tanart Sathienthirakul and Jeffrey Kingsley will line up fifth.

Car Collection Motorsport qualified sixth with its No. 34 Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II, ahead of the all-Lithuanian JUTA Racing Audi driven by Julius Adomavičius, Andrius Gelžinis and Jonas Gelžinis.

Phoenix Racing, which took pole for the last championship round at Mugello, completed the GT3 field in ninth place with its Audi.

GT4 pole was taken by the Swedish duo of Erik Behrens and Daniel Ros, driving the No. 400 McLaren 570S GT4.

Behrens and Ros set an average time of 2:33:331, outpacing the No. 416 Buggyra ZM Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Aliyyah Koloc, Yasmeen Koloc and Adam Lacko.

Hakan Sari, Recep Sari and Arthur Peters took third for Veidec Racing by JJ Motorsport, followed by the TEAM ACP – Tangerine
Associates BMW M4 GT4 of Catesby Jones, Wim Spinoy and Steven Thomas.

Westend Racing’s No. 404 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 CS MR, notably featuring Markus Palttala in a lineup alongside Mattias Wrede and Jorma Vanhanen, rounded out the top five in the GT4 class.

Notably, the No. 458 CWS Engineering Ginetta G56 GT4 set to be driven in this weekend’s twelve-hour enduro by Colin White, Freddie Tomlinson and Mike Simpson did not set a time, sitting out the session due to brake problems.

RESULTS: Hankook 12H Spa-Francorchamps Qualifying

Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in 24H Series