Connect with us

Other Series

Bathurst 12H to Kick Off Australian Endurance Series

National series for GT3, GT4, trophy cars to earn points in Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour…

Photo: Australian GT

The Liqiui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour will return to becoming a points-paying round of the Australian GT Championship, with series officials confirming on Wednesday that the race will serve as the opening round of the CAMS Australian Endurance Championship.

In consultation with event promoters Supercars, Bathurst will launch the new season, with competitors registered for the championship earning points from the around-the-clock enduro, which will also remain a points-paying round of the Intercontinental GT Challenge powered by Pirelli.

It will mark the first time since 2013 that the 12-hour event was part of the Australian GT championship, with the first 50 minutes of that race counting towards championship points that year.

Beyond Bathurst, the championship will move to Phillip Island for a dedicated four-hour race in March, as part of the new Australian GT Festival feature event and conclude in August with another four-hour race at Sandown in Melbourne as part of the Shannons Nationals.

“The motorsport landscape around the world though is changing, requiring a new approach,” said Australian GT category manager David Vervaart.

“Whilst we’re also well aware of the current economic climate, so to address much of that, we have condensed the endurance program and included the 12 Hour to allow Australian GT teams an opportunity to gain additional value and important points towards the overall Australian Endurance Championship title.”

The endurance championship will be largely contested by GT3 cars alongside the Trophy Class and GT4 category, with GT4 cars only on the calendar for Bathurst and Sandown.

“GT4 is an emerging category so we’ve tried to keep the costs down for competitors whilst including premium events like the Bathurst 12 Hour to provide additional value for their racing budgets,” Vervaart added.

2020 CAMS Australian Endurance Championship
Jan 30. – Feb 1. – Bathurst 12 Hour
March 20-22 – Phillip Island (4-Hour)
Aug, 21-22 – Sandown, (4-Hour)

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Other Series