Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Shootout Qualifying Format Confirmed for Bathurst 12H

Pirelli confirmed as sponsor of Top-10 shootout for Bathurst 12H…

Photo: Bathurst 12H

Photo: Bathurst 12H

One classic lap of Mount Panorama will decide the winner of the Allan Simonsen Pole Award at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

As part of its enhanced involvement in the event previous announced, Pirelli will sponsor a Top-10 Shootout to be held following qualifying on the Saturday afternoon.

The Top 10 Shootout has become one of the most iconic traditions surrounding motor sport at Mount Panorama, with the first one held prior to the 1978 Bathurst 1000.

The Pirelli Shootout will be the first held for GT cars on the Mountain, with the 10 fastest cars from qualifying running in reverse order to determine the first five rows of the grid.

The fastest car will receive the now iconic Allan Simonsen Pole Award, inaugurated in 2014 following the passing of one of Bathurst’s fastest ever drivers.

With Bathurst lap times continuing to tumble, the Pirelli Shootout could be the first opportunity for a car to crack the magic two-minute barrier around the 6.213 km Mount Panorama circuit.

Lap times have fallen by more than one second per year at the last three events – culminating in Shane van Gisbergen’s stunning 2:01.28 lap that saw his McLaren secure pole position for the 2016 event.

No team has ever won the Bathurst 12 Hour from a starting position outside of the top-10, placing further importance of securing a strong position on the grid.

Prior Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour pole sitters include Maro Engel (2014), Laurens Vanthoor (2015) and Shane van Gisbergen (2016).

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.


More in Intercontinental GT Challenge