Connect with us


Emil Frey, Manthey EMA Join 13-Team Grid

Six manufacturers represented as five new teams join sprint GT3 championship…

Photo: BMW

Emil Frey Racing and Manthey EMA are among five new teams joining the series for its first season under new owners ADAC.

The two squads were confirmed as part of an entry consisting of 13 teams and six manufacturers released on Wednesday.

The GT3 racing stalwarts lead a pack of new additions to the championship, with Liqui-Moly Team Engstler, Mercedes-AMG Team Landgraf and Toksport WRT also entering the single-driver sprint series for the first time.

Emil Frey Racing, which spent the last number of seasons racing in ADAC GT Masters and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, is the sole manufacturer representing Ferrari.

The Swiss squad revealed its move to Ferrari’s new 296 GT3 in January, switching from Lamborghini.

Manthey EMA’s entry, meanwhile, brings the Manthey name back to DTM for the first time in two decades.

The team founded by Olaf Manthey, himself a DTM race winner, raced Mercedes machinery in the series in 2002 and 2003.

The DTM entry is a further expansion of the partnership between the German squad and Australian operation EMA Motorsport, which includes an overall podium finish in the recent Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour as well as a planned GT3 program at the Nordschleife.

It will field the Type-992 Porsche 911 GT3 R, with fellow newcomers Toksport WRT joined in the Porsche camp by KÜS Team Bernhard.

SSR Performance, which entered a pair of Porsches for Dennis Olsen and Laurens Vanthoor last year, continues in the championship but makes the switch to the Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2.

GRT Grasser Racing Team also remains aligned with the Italian manufacturer for a second season in DTM.

As previously confirmed, BMW’s presence on the grid is made up of reigning champions Schubert Motorsport and series newcomers Team Project 1.

Team Landgraf joins from GT Masters to represent Mercedes-AMG alongside Team Winward and Haupt Racing Team, with GruppeM Racing and Muecke Motorsport both exiting the championship.

Team Engstler is the fifth and final new team to the series. The stalwart touring car squad, which recruited two-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Manuel Reuter as project manager, will campaign the Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II.

Abt Sportsline completes the 13-team grid for a 24th consecutive season with Audi.

“We are opening a new chapter for the DTM under the umbrella of the ADAC Sport President Dr. Gerd Ennser.

“From now on, the DTM is all about sustainability, innovation, entertainment and exciting motorsport.

“With a host of high-profile newcomers, internationally-renowned top teams, super sports cars from all the premium manufacturers, and elite drivers, fans can look forward to a thrilling season.

“The high level of interest in the DTM shows that our ideas and plans for the series have been well received.”


Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in DTM