Connect with us

Gulf 12H

Gulf 12 Hours Entry List Update, 12.8

The latest Gulf 12 Hours entry list changes…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

With just over two days before the cars go out onto the Yas Marina circuit for the opening practice session of the Gulf 12 Hours, a number of teams have yet to announce their final lineups. Here’s a rundown of the most recent changes and additions to the entry list.

Sean Walkinshaw, son of the late Tom Walkinshaw, has announced he will make his sportscar racing debut this weekend behind the wheel of a Dragon Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3. The 21-year-old Walkinshaw raced in EuroFormula Open this season, but is looking to move into sports cars, preferably the Blancpain GT Series.

“The aim is to obviously try and carve out a professional career and sports car and GT racing provides the best opportunity for me to achieve that,” he said. “Ideally, we’re looking at Blancpain next year but the chance to race in the Gulf 12 Hours first is going to be great preparation for whatever we do.”

Absolute Racing, which had initially entered two Audi R8 LMS ultra cars for the fourth edition of the Gulf 12 Hours, has reduced its entry to one single car. Newly-crowned Asian Le Mans Series champion Ho-Pin Tung will race for the Hong Kong-based team, he will be joined by Sun Jing Zu and Jiang Wei.

Ferrari will also be represented by AF Corse, Kessel Racing and Scuderia Villorba Corse in Abu Dhabi. Jorge Lorenzo and Liam Talbot had already been confirmed to race at the Yas Marina Circuit. Their teammates in a second Kessel Racing Ferrari will be Isaac Tutumlu, Marco Frezza and Vadim Gitlin.

Piergiuseppe Perazzini, Marco Cioci and Filipe Barreiros will race for AF Corse, just like Adrien De Leener and Cedric Sbirrazzuoli. Francesco Castellacci, Andrea Rizzoli – teammates at Villorba Corse in this years’s Blancpain Endurance Series – and Thomas Flohr will also compete in the event in a Ferrari.

In the Porsche Cup class Belgian gentlemen driver Nicolas Vandierendonck announced his plans to race GDL Racing’s car, while Ryan Ratcliffe and Andy Wilmot have been confirmed to race the STP Racing with Sopp+Sopp entry.

CRM Motorsport confirmed José Pedro Faria, Nicola de Val and Stefano de Val for their Wolf GB08 in the CN2 class, with Ollie Chadwick, Pete Storey and Ben Gower lining up on the Abu Dhabi grid in the Motion Sport Wolf GB08.

An updated entry list is yet to be issued by the Gulf 12 Hours organizers and Sportscar365 will update you has been made available.

Marcel ten Caat (@marceltencaat) is a contributor to Sportscar365 and other publications including

1 Comment

More in Gulf 12H