Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Gulf 12H Preliminary Entry List Released

Initial list of 18 teams confirmed for December’s Gulf 12 Hours at Yas Marina Circuit…

Photo: Gulf 12H

An initial list of 18 teams have been confirmed for December’s Gulf 12 Hours, which will close out the Intercontinental GT Challenge powered by Pirelli season.

The preliminary entry list, released by promoter Driving Force Events on Tuesday, narrows down the field of GT3 machinery following a record 81 cars seeking spaces on the grid for the around-the-clock enduro at Yas Maria Circuit in Abu Dhabi.

A full entry list, featuring individual entries and drivers, will be published next month ahead of the Dec. 10 race.

Four-time and defending race winners AF Corse headlines the list, alongside Kessel Racing, which also has four wins to its name in the enduro alongside two-time event winners 2 Seas Motorsport.

SunEnergy1 Racing, which took Pro-Am class honors last year, will be on the grid with a Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo in the racing return of Kenny Habul following back injuries for the U.S.-based Australian at the CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa.

Team WRT will make its Gulf 12 Hours debut as BMW heads into the IGTC season finale with a lead over Mercedes-AMG in the manufacturers’ championship.

Fellow IGTC entrant GruppeM Racing is also confirmed, with Herberth Motorsport and Car Collection Motorsport both set to field Porsche 911 GT3 Rs in the race.

Three McLaren teams will do battle, with Garage 59 and Optimum Motorsport being joined by Greystone GT, while Baron Motorsport, MP Racing and Centri Porsche Ticino return, with new event entries from 7Tsix Racing, Haas RT, Grove Racing and Tsunami RT.

The grid is expected to be capped to 36 cars to ensure high-quality garage and team facilities.

Gulf 12 Hours Confirmed Teams:
2 Seas Motorsport (Mercedes-AMG)
7Tsix (Mercedes-AMG)
AF Corse (Ferrari)
Baron Motorsport (Ferrari)
Car Collection (Porsche)
Centri Porsche Ticino (Porsche)
Garage 59 (McLaren)
Greystone GT (McLaren)
Grove Racing (Porsche)
GruppeM Racing (Mercedes-AMG)
HaasRT (Audi)
Herberth Motorsport (Porsche)
Kessel Racing (Ferrari)
MP Racing (Mercedes-AMG)
Optimum Motorsport (McLaren)
SunEnergy1 Racing (Mercedes-AMG)
Team WRT (BMW)
Tsunami RT (Porsche)

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Intercontinental GT Challenge