Connect with us

Pirelli GT4 America

Bumper 37-Car Field for COTA

Texas-sized field for Pirelli GT4 America action at Circuit of The Americas…

Photo: SRO America

Pirelli GT4 America returns next weekend for Rounds 3 and 4 of the season at Circuit of The Americas, which sees a 37-car entry for the May 1-2 event.

Twenty cars will battle for Pro-Am honors. Aston Martin and the Vantage GT4 are well-represented with long-time SRO America competitor GMG Racing bringing the No. 2 Aston Martin for Jason Bell and Andrew Davis.

Bsport Racing, who finished second in class in Round 1, will field the No. 15 Aston Martin entry for Bryan Putt and sports car star Kenton Koch. Heart of Racing returns with Gray Newell and 2019 GT4 America Sprint champion Ian James behind the wheel of the No. 24, looking to better their finishes from the Sonoma rounds.

Rookie GT4 America team WR Racing, which finished second in Round 2, brings along the No. 59 Aston Martin for Paul Terry and former World Challenge GT Champion Brandon Davis with the always-quick NOTLAD Racing by RS1 team campaigning the strong duo of Matt Dalton and Patrick Gallagher in the No. 00.

Audi sees an increase in entries with four cars as GMG Racing enters an R8 LMS GT4 for Elias Sabo and SRO America veteran Andy Lee, driving the navy blue No. 8 car. 

Rearden Racing enters the No. 29 for Owen Trinkler and Dmitri Novikov and will also field the No. 888 for Kris McCoy and Jeff Westphal.

IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge squad CarBahn Motorsports will debut in the series and debut its No. 930 Audi for Mark Siegel and veteran Tom Dyer.

Nolasport, who swept the season-opening weekend at Sonoma, returns with the No. 47 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 for Matt Travis and Jason Hart representing the German manufacturer.

TRG returns with star driver Spencer Pumpelly and Derek DeBoer in the No. 66 entry with long-standing team Black Swan Racing running the #No. 4 Porsche Cayman for owner/driver Tim Pappas and Porsche veteran Jereon Bleekemolen.

BMW is one of the most popular brands on the grid with ST Racing once again featuring 2018 TCR champion Ryan Eversley and veteran Ferrari Challenge racer Joe Rubbo in the No. 28 M4 GT4.

BimmerWorld Racing will field two cars in Pro-Am with legend Bill Auberlen and James Walker in the No. 34 and team owner/driver James Clay and Nick Galante sharing the No. 36.

AutoTechnic Racing leaps into GT4 competition with the No. 52 for Tom Capizzi and John Capestro-Dubets.

2019 Champions Stephen Cameron Racing return with their bright orange and blue-liveried machine for Gregory Liefooghe and Sean Quinlan, looking to regain their crown in the No. 119.

RHC Jorgensen/Strom will field an entry in the competitive category with Brett Strom and Daren Jorgensen behind the wheel of the No. 450.

Two Mercedes-AMG contingents are entered in Pro-Am with Florida’s RennTech Motorsports fielding the No.89 for Ross Chouset and Aaron Povoledo and the No. 39 machine for Chris Cagnazzi and Guy Cosmo.

Strong Entries in Silver, Am Classes

Silver Cup brings a competitive six-car grid to the field with Dexter Racing leading the way after finishing first and second in the opening rounds in the No. 062 Aston Martin for Ryan and Warren Dexter.

Murillo Racing team returns for Kenny Murillo and Christian Szymczak, sitting second in the championship standings, in the No. 72 Mercedes-AMG GT4, the only marque representation in the class.

BMW sees three cars entered with CCR Racing/Team TFB fielding the No. 22 for Cole Ciraulo and Tim Barber.

ST Racing’s second car, the No. 38, for Bryson Lew and former TCA driver Tomas Mejia returns with BimmerWorld’s third entry of Jon Miller and Chandler Hull pairing in the #94.

Marco Polo Motorsports, who grabbed the final podium step in Round 2, returns with their No. 71 KTM X-Bow GT4 Evo for Nicolai Elghanayan and former ADAC GT4 Germany champion Mads Siljehaug.

Am will see 11 cars battle for class honors with Porsche represented by four entries.

Sean Gibbons and Sam Owen will pilot the Nolasport with OGH No. 7 machine with Russell Walker, championship leader, and David Walker in the No.46.

TRG will prep the No 17 Porsche for Jim Rappaport and Todd Hetherington with Murillo Racing fielding the No. 43 for Aurora Straus and Jeff Mosing.

Toyota and the new-for-2021 GR Supra GT4 sees two cars with Forbush Performance running the No. 18 with Matt Forbush and Damon Surzyshyn driving.

The second of the new Toyota GR Supra GT4s comes from the No. 68 Smooge Racing entry for former NASCAR Cup Rookie of the Year Kevin Conway and John Geesbreght, who sit tied atop the championship standings.

Motorsport USA team represents the entirety of the three entries from McLaren with Cavan O’Keefe and Jerold Lowe in the No. 23, Michael McAleenan and Dan Rogers in the No. 5, and Todd Clarke and Ty Clarke in the #111.

Random Vandals Racing will field the No. 98 BMW M4 GT4 for Paul Sparta and Al Cater with Mercedes-AMG represented by Capstone Motorsports in the No. 16 for John Allen and Kris Wilson, who finished second in both races at Sonoma.

Each race will be streamed live via SRO’s GT World YouTube Channel.

Race 1 takes place Sat., May 1 at 12:30 p.m. ET while Race 2 drops the green flag on Sun., May 2 at 12 p.m. ET.

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in Pirelli GT4 America