Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Van der Linde, Winkelhock Among Audi Drivers for Bathurst

Audi finalizes lineup for next weekend’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour…

Photo: Audi

Six star drivers from Australia and abroad will join the Audi Sport fleet following confirmation of the German manufacturer’s full Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour effort.

Factory Audi drivers Nathanael Berthon, Ricardo Feller, Kelvin van der Linde and Markus Winkelhock will join the pair of Audi Sport Team Valvoline entries steered by Brad Schumacher and Yasser Shahin.

Meanwhile, Supercars stars David Reynolds and Cameron Waters will drive alongside experienced local racer Tony Bates in his entry.

It completes Audi’s seven-strong attack on securing a record-breaking fourth victory in the Mount Panorama enduro.

“In 2011, we were a pioneer at the Bathurst 12 Hour as the first GT3 entrant,” said Head of Audi Sport customer racing Chris Reinke.

“In the meantime, many international brands have followed us and thus contributed to the event’s rise to one of the world’s most important GT3 endurance races. With three victories at Bathurst, Audi is the most successful manufacturer in the GT3 era.

“Now, against the backdrop of Pro-Am regulations, we’re facing a new challenge just like our rivals.”

Schumacher will be joined in the No. 74 by Berthon, a Bathurst 12 Hour rookie, and the experienced van der Linde.

Berthon currently races for Audi in the FIA World Touring Car Cup among his lengthy racing CV, which includes five top-six finishes in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Van der Linde is a Bathurst 12-hour regular and set the fastest lap for Audi in the closing stages of the 2020 race.

The South African star is a staple of Audi’s global sports car programs and finished third for the brand in the 2021 DTM title. He’ll make his third Bathurst 12 Hour start this year.

Current Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia powered by AWS champion Shahin will be joined by Feller and Winkelhock in his No. 777 entry.

Twenty-one-year-old Feller, who hails from Switzerland. has forged a career as a GT professional despite his young age.

He is the current Silver class GTWC Europe Endurance Cup champion, won the 2021 ADAC GT Masters series and joined ABT Sportline to contest this year’s DTM season.

Winkelhock will make his eighth 12-Hour start this year and is now one of the most experienced international drivers to have ever tackled the race.

The German finished second in the 2015 12-Hour, fourth in 2016 and sixth in 2014.

Supercars stars Reynolds and Waters will team with Tony Bates in his No. 24 entry. While Waters will make just his second 12-hour start, 2022 will represent Reynolds’ seventh attempt in a bid to add the 12-Hour crown to his Bathurst 1000 trophy.

The three combinations confirmed on Friday add to the existing cars already announced, which will see Chaz Mostert team up with Liam Talbot and Fraser Ross, Marc Cini team with Lee Holdsworth and Dean Fiore and brothers James & Theo Koundouris share their R8 with David Russell and Paul Stokell.

A seventh Audi, entered by Adelaide-based Team BRM, will see Mark Rosser drive with Nick Percat and Joey Mawson.

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in Intercontinental GT Challenge