Connect with us


22 Entries for Nogaro, BSS Season

SRO announces full-season entry list for Blancpain Sprint Series…

Photo: Brecht Decancq Photography

Photo: Brecht Decancq Photography

The Circuit Paul Armagnac in Nogaro will host the Blancpain Sprint Series season opener and 22 full-season entries are currently planned to race in France and the entire 2014 season.

With 14 cars entered in the Pro category there are plenty of title candidates this season. Audi, BMW, Ferrari, Lamborghini, McLaren and Mercedes are all in the championship battle with at least one entry.


2013 FIA GT Series champions Laurens Vanthoor and Stéphane Ortelli are among the main candidates for the Blancpain Sprint Series title, both will have fast new teammates though, Cesar Ramos and Roman Rusinov respectively. René Rast will team up with Enzo Ide in the No. 2 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 LMS ultra.

The Audi drivers will face competition from HTP Motorsport, which will enter the Blancpain Sprint Series with a pair of SLS AMG GT3 cars. Reigning Blancpain Endurance Series champion Maximilian Buhk, fast Dutchman Stef Dusseldorp and 2013 FIA GT Series Pro-Am Champion Sergey Afanasiev will race for HTP.

They will be joined by a pair of Phoenix Racing Audi’s, which will have former FIA GT1 World Champions Markus Winkelhock and Marc Basseng behind the wheel. BMW will be represented by AH Competicoes Team Brasil and ROAL Motorsport, with Nelson Piquet and Alex Zanardi among the drivers.

Lamborghini will be represented in the Blancpain Sprint Series by Grasser Racing Team and Blancpain Racing, while GT Open champions Bhaitech will be the only McLaren team in the series.

The new Silver Cup, for silver drivers under the age of 25, will have young, talented drivers battling for the available prize money. Audi, Lamborghini, McLaren, Mercedes and Nissan are all represented in the Silver Cup.

Blancpain president Marc Hayek has switched from the Blancpain Endurance Series to the Blancpain Sprint Series. He will race a Lamborghini Gallardo FL2 with Peter Kox in the Pro-Am Trophy.

Marcel ten Caat (@marceltencaat) is a contributor to Sportscar365 and other publications including

Click to comment

More in BSS