Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

BHA Expands into Six-Car Hyundai TCR Effort

Expansive program for Hyundai squad as team seeks fourth straight IMSA class title…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Bryan Herta Autosport will expand from a four to six-car Hyundai effort in the TCR class of IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge this year as the team seeks its fourth consecutive series’ championship.

The six-car lineup — all featuring Hyundai Elantra N TCRs for the first time — includes five class championship-winning drivers.

Reigning champions Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis will return as co-drivers in the newly re-numbered No. 1 entry, while 2020 class champion Ryan Norman will team up with AJ Muss in the No. 2 Hyundai.

2019 co-champion Mark Wilkins is back for a fifth year with BHA in the No. 32 Elantra, with his co-driver yet to be announced.

TCR race winners Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson will continue to drive the No. 54 entry, which moves from a Veloster N TCR to an Elantra, while Mason Filippi returns to the BHA fold in the No. 77 car alongside Tyler Maxson, who had previously raced a Veloster for Copeland Motorsports.

Texans Harry Gottsacker and Parker Chase will team-up to co-drive the No. 98 Elantra, meanwhile.

“The competition continues to rise in TCR and having our entire 2021 lineup return, while welcoming four new drivers shows we are not taking defending the championship title lightly,” said team owner Bryan Herta.

“Thanks to the men and women of BHA who worked so hard through the holidays and a short off-season to make sure we are ready to start 2022 stronger than ever.”

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge