Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

CarBahn Audi on Pole for Laguna Seca 120; Hyundai Tops TCR

Tyler McQuarrie takes a clear pole by 0.789s in qualifying for today’s Pilot Challenge race…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Tyler McQuarrie set the No. 39 CarBahn with Peregrine Racing Audi R8 LMS GT4 on pole for today’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge contest at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

McQuarrie dominated the 15-minute session for the GT4-based GS class, setting the fastest lap early on before continuing to shave down his best time with each attempt.

The eventual chart-topping effort of 1:30.876 ended up almost eight-tenths of a second clear of Paul Holton, who qualified alongside on the front row in the No. 75 Compass Racing McLaren 570S GT4.

McQuarrie’s efforts brought the CarBahn team its second pole of the season via the process of leading a qualifying session.

While its Audi took pole last time out at Virginia International Raceway, this was a result of the starting grid being decided by championship positions because qualifying was canceled due to poor weather.

McQuarrie and his co-driver Jeff Westphal currently a 24-point advantage at the top of the drivers’ standings heading into the two-hour Laguna Seca race.

Their closest championship rival Jesse Lazare put the No. 69 Motorsport in Action McLaren on the second row of the grid with a 1:31.742.

Lazare, who shares the McLaren with Corey Fergus, narrowly beat Owen Trinkler who settled for fourth in the No. 46 Team TGM Mercedes-AMG GT4.

Nate Stacy will line up fifth on the grid in the No. 60 KohR Motorsports Ford Mustang GT4 that won at VIR, ahead of the No. 33 Winward Racing/HTP Motorsport Mercedes qualified by Russell Ward.

BHA Hyundais 1-2 in TCR

The two Hyundai Veloster N TCRs from Bryan Herta Autosport locked out the front row of the TCR class grid, with Michael Lewis beating his teammate Mason Filippi to pole.

Lewis registered a time of 1:33.105 to score the championship-leading No. 98 Hyundai’s fourth pole of the season, while Filippi slotted into second on a 1:33.337 in the No. 21 car.

In third and fourth were two Audi RS 3 LMS TCR entries, with Nick Galante going third-quickest in the No. 23 FastMD machine to beat JDC-Miller Motorsports driver Michael Johnson.

The Laguna Seca 120 gets underway at 3:05 p.m. PDT, with live coverage on

RESULTS: Qualifying

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge