Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

VOLT’s Hindman, Brynjolfsson Score Laguna Seca Win

Wright Motorsports-run Aston claims victory, extends GS points lead…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Trent Hindman drove to victory in Saturday’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge round at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Hindman, in the No. 7 VOLT Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT4, resisted a late-race challenge from Bill Auberlen in the No. 95 Turner Motorsport BMW M4 GT4 to take he and Alan Brynjolfsson’s first victory of the season.

The Wright Motorsports-run Aston took over the lead after initially gambling on fuel prior to a series of late-race yellows that put the car back into its mileage window.

Hindman crossed the line 2.513 seconds ahead of the No. 28 RS1 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport of Stevan McAleer after Auberlen was forced to dash to the pits in the final ten minutes due to a tire puncture.

The No. 14 Riley Motorsports Toyota GR Supra GT4 of Alfredo Najri and Thiago Camilo completed the overall and GS class podium in third, ahead of the No. 96 Turner BMW, brought to the finish by Robby Foley.

Jason Hart and Matt Travis completed the top-five in the No. 47 Nolasport Porsche.

With the win, Hindman and Brynjolfsson take over as the sole points leaders in GS, following a day to forget for Team TGM, which entered the event in a tie for the lead with the VOLT duo.

TCR honors came down to a late-race penalty, with KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering’s Roy Block and Tim Lewis Jr. taking their second class win of the season in their Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR.

Lewis Jr. took over the class lead with four minutes left on the clock when leader Jon Morley in the No. 61 Road Shagger Racing Audi RS 3 LMS TCR was forced to serve a drive-through penalty for incident responsibility after contact with the No. 2 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Elantra N TCR of Ryan Norman in Turn 1.

Lewis Jr. finished 3.297 seconds ahead of No. 15 Belgard & Techniseal Racing Audi TCR of Denis Dupont, who fended off a pair of BHA Hyundais and made a late charge on the No. 19 Van der Steur Racing Hyundai Veloster N TCR of Tyler Gonzalez to take second in class at the line.

The No. 17 Unitronic JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi, which was running second behind Morley in the closing stages, dropped out of the race with 20 minutes to go when Mikey Taylor ground to a halt on track after the car lost drive.

Taylor was challenging for the lead at the time prior to Morley’s costly penalty that could have handed the class lead to the U.S.-based South African.

RESULTS: WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca 120

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge