Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Marcelli, Stacy Hold on for CTSC Win in Canada

Kyle Marcelli and Nate Stacy win with fuel-saving run in CTSC at CTMP…

Photo: Scott LePage/IMSA

Kyle Marcelli completed a fuel-saving run to secure his and Nate Stacy’s third Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge win of the season in the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park 120 on Saturday afternoon.

The Roush Performance/KohR Motorsports drivers took their No. 60 Ford Mustang GT4 to a two-second win over the No. 80 AWA Ford driven by Brett Sandberg and Martin Barkey.

While several other GS runners elected for a two-stop strategy in the two-hour race, Marcelli drove a 68-minute stint without refuelling and ultimately ran out of gas on the cool-down lap.

The win, their first since Mid-Ohio in May, moves Marcelli and Stacy into the championship lead heading into the next race at Lime Rock Park. 

A late-race pass for third moved Damien Faulkner onto the podium with his Winward Racing/HTP Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 which pitted twice.

The Irishman overtook Trent Hindman in the closing stages of the race to prevent VOLT Racing from giving the Ford Mustang GT4 a podium sweep.

Chad McCumbee brought the No. 8 Multimatic Motorsports-entered Ford to fifth while Jeff Westphal finished sixth with his Carbahn Motorsports Audi R8 LMS GT4.

A header issue early in the race took Chase Briscoe and Scott Maxwell out of contention with their Multimatic Ford while Spencer Pumpelly and Dillon Machavern could only manage a 17th-place finish.

The RS1 drivers came to CTMP in the championship lead but a brake caliper issue on the No. 28 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR allowed the race winners to inherit the points lead.

Long, Casey Dominate TCR for Compass Racing

Tom Long and Britt Casey Jr. led from start to finish to give Compass Racing the TCR class victory and continue the Canadian team’s sweep of the season.

The No. 77 car held on in the all-Audi RS3 LMS TCR field while a battle took place for the remaining podium positions between Stephen Simpson and Pierre Kleinubing.

Simpson came out on top in the No. 54 JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi while Kleinubing held on to third in the No. 75 Compass car.

Mark Pombo’s No. 52 MINI JCW came to a halt from the ST lead with seven minutes remaining after a troublesome race for him and Colin Mullan.

This moved Nick Galante into the lead for the final few laps to take BimmerWorld Racing’s first class win since Daytona with its BMW 328i driven by Galante and Devin Jones.

He finished five seconds clear of Derek Jones’ No. 37 MINI while Jason Rabe and the No. 21 Bodymotion Racing Porsche Cayman completed the podium.

RESULTS: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park 120

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in Michelin Pilot Challenge