Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

MIA McLaren GT4 Wins Race; RS1 Crowned CTSC Champions

MIA McLaren wins CTSC race; Murcott, Machavern claim title…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Motorsports In Action drivers Jesse Lazare and Chris Green have won the final Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge race of the season, while RS1’s Dylan Murcott and Dillon Machavern were crowned champions.

Lazare and the No. 69 McLaren 570S GT4 crossed the line first after the two-hour Fox Factory 120 race on Friday afternoon in an up-and-down weekend for the MIA team, which had a heavy accident during pre-event testing on Wednesday.

The race ended under a full course caution after two separate incidents in the final ten minutes.

He and co-driver Green led most of the second half of the race after inheriting the lead when pole-sitter Paul Holton hit mechanical problems.

Holton’s C360R McLaren had a slow stop during the first of three full course cautions and went behind the wall with a loss of power, prematurely ending his and Matt Plumb’s race.

Green had previously passed Holton in the first round of pit stops but the C360R driver retook the position.

A ninth-place finish was enough to secure the GS drivers’ title for Murcott and Machavern in the No. 28 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR. 

The RS1 drivers only scored one win this season, at Virginia International Raceway, but still came to Road Atlanta with a healthy points lead.

Al Carter finished the race in second for Automatic Racing, four seconds down on the leader, while Nico Rondet completed the podium in the No. 77 C360R McLaren.

Jack Roush Jr. looked set to challenge for a strong finish until his No. 59 Ford Mustang GT4 stopped on track during the first hour, prompting the first caution period for 14 minutes.

Owen Trinkler came through to win the ST class battle in the CRG-I Do Borrow Nissan Altima he shares with Sarah Cattaneo, in likely the final outing for the team. 

He took the lead from Tyler Cooke midway through the race although the BimmerWorld Racing driver had a collision late.

C360R’s Pierre Kleinubing came home second in class ahead of Stevan McAleer in the No. 25 Freedom Autosport Mazda MX-5.

Eric Foss claimed the ST drivers’ title from a ninth position finish in his No. 56 Murillo Racing Porsche Cayman, with title rivals Nick Galante and Spencer Pumpelly losing several laps en route to a 16th place class finish. 

A late full course caution was called to retrieve the No. 81 BimmerWorld BMW 328i from the gravel trap but a collision between Tyler Cooke’s No. 84 BMW and the No. 26 Freedom Autosport Mazda MX-5 brought the race to an end under the caution.

RESULTS: Fox Factory 120

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge