Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Wilson, Lewis on Poles for Continental Tire Kansas Race

TRG-AMR’s Kris Wilson scores GS pole for CTSC at Kansas…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

TRG-AMR has captured the GS pole for Saturday’s Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge race at Kansas Speedway, courtesy of a 1:21.953 from Kris Wilson in the team’s No. 07 Aston Martin Vantage.

Wilson will co-drive with James Davison in the fifth round of the season, the two-hour, 30-minute Round 5. This is the third different co-driver for Wilson in as many CTSC races, with Max Riddle having been in the first three races and Peter Ludwig alongside last time out at Lime Rock Park.

Rum Bum Racing, which won last race at Lime Rock, will start second with Matt Plumb and Nick Longhi in the team’s No. 13 Porsche 997 at 1:22.124. A slight brush of the wall by Longhi, who qualified, negated the shot at the pole in the waning moments of the 15-minute session.

The No. 32 Phoenix American Motorsports Ford Mustang Boss 302R (Andrew Aquilante, Kurt Rezzetano, Don Knowles) starts third with a time of 1:22.261. Points leaders John Edwards and Trent Hindman qualified fourth in the No. 46 Fall-Line Motorsports BMW M3 at 1:22.252.

The No. 6 Stevenson Motorsports Camaro Z/28.R (Andrew Davis, Robin Liddell) and No. 14 Doran Racing Nissan 370Z (BJ Zacharias/Brad Jaeger) made it six manufacturers in the top six positions on the grid.

In ST, Porsche Caymans took over from Mazda MX-5s in terms of producing a 1-2-3 result, this time in qualifying.

Corey Lewis took the class pole in the No. 87 Rebel Rock Racing entry at 1:27.809, in a car he’ll share with Charles Espenlaub.

The pair of Autometrics Motorsports Caymans were second and third. Adam Isman qualified the No. 04 entry second at 1:27.843; he’ll share with Remo Ruscitti. David Baum was third in the sister No. 24 at 1:28.273, and he’ll co-drive with Cory Friedman.

Steve Doherty took the No. 34 Skullcandy Team Nissan Nissan Altima to fourth, best of the rest, at 1:28.281 in the car he’ll share with Bryan Heitkotter. Another Cayman, this time the No. 50 Berg Racing entry of John Weisberg and Cody Ellsworth, starts fifth.

Points leaders Stevan McAleer and Chad McCumbee start 19th in the No. 5 CJ Wilson Racing Mazda MX-5.

Saturday’s race, the fifth of the 2014 CTSC season, will go green at 7:15 p.m. ET.

RESULTS: Qualifying

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony

1 Comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge