Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

17 Cars on Long Beach Entry List

Small field of 17 for P/GTLM classes set for TUSC at Long Beach…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

A field of 17 cars has been officially revealed for the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship’s Tequila Patron Sports Car Showcase at Long Beach, featuring just the Prototype and GT Le Mans classes.

The nine-car Prototype field includes the five full-season Daytona Prototype entries from Action Express Racing, Wayne Taylor Racing, Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing.

ENTRY LIST: Tequila Patron Sports Car Showcase at Long Beach

Additionally, the field will have the pair of SpeedSource Mazda SKYACTIV-Ds, the No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda in its track debut and the DeltaWing, which will make its much-anticipated street course debut.

While the Starworks Motorsport Riley-BMW Daytona Prototype is listed to make 18 cars, team principal Peter Baron has confirmed to Sportscar365 that car won’t participate in the event. The DP’s next expected race is Watkins Glen.

GTLM’s field of eight cars includes the pair of factory Corvettes, Porsches and BMWs apiece, with Risi Competizione and Team Falken Tire rounding out the class.

Risi has a revised lineup this race compared to last year, with Pierre Kaffer in for Dane Cameron, and Porsche has its previously announced altered lineup with Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy not making the trip to Long Beach.

The race had 21 cars last year in the first edition of the TUDOR Championship P/GTLM only race, while in 2009 the American Le Mans Series also had a 21-car field spread among its then-four classes.

Round 3 for the P/GTLM classes will air live on at 7:05 p.m. ET on April 18, with the TV broadcast following on Sunday, April 19, at 4 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1.

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony


More in WeatherTech Championship