Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

28 Entries for 6H Road Atlanta

WeatherTech Championship teams prepare for round two of IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

A total of 28 cars are set to take part in next weekend’s TireRack Grand Prix at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta.

Released by IMSA on Wednesday, the entry list for the second round of the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup — replacing the canceled Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen — features the return of all four IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship classes, although reduced grids in both LMP2 and GT Daytona.

Only three LMP2 cars are listed, with Starworks Motorsport, which had committed to a reduced program around the four long-distance races, not on the entry list.

Additionally, Performance Tech Motorsports’ Oreca 07 Gibson currently only features Don Yount as a confirmed driver, with full-season pilots Cameron Cassels and Kyle Masson not listed.

Scott Huffaker will make his WeatherTech Championship debut in the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca, while Colin Braun is set for his first start with Era Motorsport, having served as the team’s driver coach in recent races.

GTD sees an 11-car field, with WeatherTech Sprint Cup-only entries from Compass Racing, Gradient Racing and Hardpoint Racing not present as expected.

Spencer Pumpelly will rejoin GRT Magnus, along with the reshuffled AIM Vasser Sullivan lineup and return of Trent Hindman and Shinya Michimi to the pair of Meyer Shank Racing-run Acura NSX GT3 Evos.

Dillon Machavern is confirmed as the third driver in the No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3, which won last time out at Virginia International Raceway, with Ben Keating slated to complete the lineup in the No. 74 Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo.

Corey Lewis will be in Paul Miller Racing’s Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo while Aston Martin factory ace Darren Turner will join The Heart of Racing’s Aston Martin Vantage GT3 entry.

Third drivers for the No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R and No. 62 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo 2020 have not been announced.

Per IMSA rules, GTD must feature three-driver lineups for all Endurance Cup races.

While the GT Le Mans class remains unchanged since VIR, the DPi class sees a number of additional or returning drivers as well for the Endurance Cup round.

It includes Ryan Hunter-Reay and Olivier Pla at Mazda, Felipe Albuquerque in the Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R and Tristan Vautier in the No. 5 JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillac DPi.

Stephen Simpson, meanwhile, will be joined by Matheus Leist in JDC’s No. 85 entry, which like the pair of Team Penske Acura ARX-05 entries and Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi, will run as two-driver lineups.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship