Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

56 Entries for Petit Le Mans

Preliminary entry list for Petit Le Mans released…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

IMSA has released the preliminary entry list for next month’s TUDOR United SportsCar Championship season-ending Petit Le Mans, which features a total of 56 entries for the 1,000-mile/10-hour enduro at Road Atlanta.

ENTRY LIST: Petit Le Mans

Eleven cars are listed to take part in the Prototype class, including the return of the No. 0 DeltaWing DWC13 for Andy Meyrick, Katherine Legge and Gabby Chaves, as well as the No. 9 Action Express Racing Corvette DP with drivers Burt and Brian Frisselle and Jon Fogarty.

Sebastien Bourdais rejoins championship leaders Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi in the No. 5 Action Express entry, while Max Angelelli completes the lineup in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP.

Other third driver additions include Max Papis to the Marsh Racing Corvette DP and Mike Rockenfeller in the No. 90 Spirit of Daytona Corvette DP. Ben Devlin and Tristan Vautier complete the lineups in the Nos. 70 and 07 SpeedSource Mazdas, respectively.

IndyCar ace Scott Dixon will team with Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas in the No. 01 Ganassi Riley-Ford, while the No. 02 car, which took part in the two opening Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup rounds, is not listed.

Also absent are the pair of Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-03bs, which announced its withdrawal from the race last weekend to instead compete in the FIA World Endurance Championship round in Shanghai.

It leaves only three P2 cars for the race, with the pair of Mazdas being joined by OAK Racing’s Ligier JS P2 Honda for Gustavo Yacaman, Alex Brundle and Ho-Pin Tung, and no other European-based entires making the trip over.

Prototype Challenge features a 11-car entry, with a number of new and returning drivers to the spec prototype class.

Ryan Everseley will make his PC race debut alongside Adam Merzon, John Martin and Martin Fuentes in the No. 7 Starworks entry, while Alex Popow is listed to complete the lineup in the team’s No. 8 Oreca FLM09.

Tom Kimber-Smith and Eric Lux return to the No. 25 8Star Motorsports entry, while Jerome Mee and Mikhail Goikhberg make their PC debuts for Performance Tech and JDC/Miller Motorsports, respectively.

James Gue (CORE autosport), David Cheng and Tomy Drissi (BAR1), plus Rusty Mitchell and David Heinemeier Hansson (RSR Racing) also return as third drivers for the race.

There are a total of 11 cars entered in GTE-Pro, including the addition of Krohn Racing’s Ferrari F458 Italia for Tracy Krohn, Nic Jonsson and Andrea Bertolini.

So far, only two Porsche North America Porsche 911 RSRs are listed, despite plans to field its third, No. 910 entry for the season finale.

Joey Hand and Dirk Werner (BMW Team RLL) as well as Ryan Hunter-Reay and Rob Bell (SRT Motorsports) return for reinforcement, while Ryan Briscoe is listed to drive both the Nos. 3 and 4 Corvette Racing C7.Rs.

Third drivers for either of the Porsche North America or Risi Competizione entries have yet to be confirmed, although Marco Holzer is listed to join Bryan Sellers and Wolf Henzler in the No. 17 Team Falken Tire Porsche.

GT Daytona features a bumper 23-car entry with multiple driver and team additions.

Of note, Craig Stanton joins the championship-contending No. 22 Alex Job Racing Porsche 911 GT America, while NGT Motorsport features the potent lineup of Earl Bamber, Kuba Giermaziak and Christina Nielsen.

Marco Seefried and Alex Riberas rejoin Magnus Racing and Team Seattle/AJR, respectively, while England’s Matt Bell returns to the wheel of Paul Miller Racing’s Audi R8 LMS, as does Sebastiaan Bleekemolen in the Riley Motorsports Dodge Viper SRT GT3-R.

The AF Corse-run Spirit of Race operation will make its first start since the Six Hours of The Glen in June, with a two-car Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 effort featuring the likes of Matt Griffin, Michele Rugolo and Eddie Cheever III.

Porsche Supercup ace Philipp Eng joins Damien Faulkner and Ben Barker in the GB Autosport Porsche, while Paul Dalla Lana returns to the wheel of the Turner Motorsport BMW Z4 GT3, which leads the championship heading into the weekend.

A number of teams have yet to finalize lineups, including third drivers, including Scuderia Corsa, Park Place Motorsports, Flying Lizard Motorsports and Muehlner Motorsports.

The 17th Petit Le Mans is set for Oct. 1-4.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship