Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Angelelli Takes Lead in Fourth Hour at Daytona

WTR capitalizes on Action Express problems…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

Max Angelelli leads the Rolex 24 at Daytona after four hours in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, as both Action Express Racing Cadillacs hit trouble.

Angelelli passed the No. 31 Action Express car of Eric Curran on lap 121, but was less than one second ahead at the hour mark.

After taking over from Seb Morris, Curran’s car refused to fire, but was pushed back behind the wall and bump-started by his mechanics.

The second Action Express Cadillac of Christian Fittipaldi had been leading before pitting under Full Course Yellow to repair a broken rear-tail light, but remains on the lead lap, 13 seconds behind Angelelli.

Ben Hanley is fourth in the DragonSpeed Oreca 07 Gibson after the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P of Spencer Pigot was penalized for an improper wave-by and dropped five laps down.

In Prototype Challenge, the No. 88 Starworks machine of Sean Rayhall led the No. 38 of Nicholas Boulle by half a second.

The second Starworks entry is several laps down after an incident at the Bus Stop with the No. 73 Park Place Porsche of Matt McMurry, which was running third in GT Daytona.

John Falb was deemed to be at fault for the incident and given an eight-minute stop and hold penalty and summoned to race control.

In GT Le Mans, Dirk Mueller continues to lead in the No. 66 Ford GT, having taken over from pole-sitter Joey Hand, with Giancarlo Fisichella’s No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GTE coming under pressure from Ryan Briscoe in the No. 67 Ford for second.

Jules Gounon led GT Daytona for much of the fourth hour in the No. 29 Land Motorsport Audi R8 LMS before pitting, handing the lead to the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3 of Matteo Cressoni.

Thomas Jaeger lies second in the No. 50 Riley Motorsports – WeatherTech Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3.

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.


More in WeatherTech Championship