Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

AXR, Cadillac Pace Roar Session 4

Felipe Nasr led a Cadillac sweep of the top four positions in Session 4 at the Roar…

Photo: Action Express Racing

Felipe Nasr continued Cadillac’s dominance of Daytona International Speedway at the Roar Before the 24, topping Session 4 in the No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R.

Nasr’s best lap of 1:36.973 came on his penultimate tour of the circuit and was a mere 0.083 seconds faster than second-place Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac.

Eddie Cheever III was a strong third in the No. 90 Cadillac entry for Spirit of Daytona while Christian Fittipaldi completed the Cadillac sweep of the top four spots in the No. 5 AXR machine.

Alex Brundle, driving the No. 78 Jackie Chan DCR JOTA Oreca 07 Gibson, and Romain Dumas, piloting the No. 54 CORE autosport Oreca, completed the top five overall.

Ryan Briscoe put Ford on top of the GT Le Mans class once again in the No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT, 0.142 seconds quicker than Risi Competizione’s Ferrari 488 GTE driven by Alessandro Pier Guidi.

Sebastien Bourdais was third in the No. 66 Ford with the Nos. 912 and 911 Porsche 911 RSR machines completing the top five with Laurens Vanthoor and Fred Makowiecki behind the wheel, respectively.

Mario Farnbacher put Acura atop the time charts in GT Daytona in the No. 93 Michael Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 with Sven Mueller close behind driving the No. 59 Porsche 911 GT3 R for Manthey Racing.

The final WeatherTech Championship session of the day is scheduled for 6:30 – 8:00 p.m. ET tonight.

RESULTS: Session 4

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.


More in WeatherTech Championship