Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Beatriz Tops GTD Roar Qual; P1’s Times Disallowed

Ana Beatriz is fastest in GTD qualifying following a penalty for P1 Motorsports…

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

Ana Beatriz was fastest in the GT Daytona Roar Before the 24 Qualifying session after P1 Motorsports had its times disallowed due to using a Gold-rated driver.

The P1 squad had Dominik Baumann behind the wheel and did set the fastest time, but by rule only Bronze and Silver-rated drivers were allowed to take part.

The penalty to P1 elevated Beatriz and the Meyer Shank Racing team to the top of the time charts and secured the best pit and garage selection of the GT Daytona class for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Frankie Montecalvo was second for AIM Vasser Sullivan, while Trent Hindman and Ben Keating completed the top four for MSR and Mercedes-AMG Team Riley Motorsports, respectively.

The Spirit of Race team did a remarkable job to get their No. 51 Ferrari 488 GT3 out on track in the final moments after an incident for Paul Dalla Lana in the session that immediately preceded qualifying.

Also of note, Paul Miller Racing elected not to take part in the session.

RESULTS: Qualifying GTD

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship