Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Karam Joins Ganassi’s No. 01 Car for Watkins Glen

Sage Karam joins Pruett, Rojas at CGR for Watkins Glen…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

Sage Karam has been confirmed to drive the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Ford EcoBoost Riley with Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen.

Karam co-drove with Pruett, Rojas and Jamie McMurray in the No. 01 at the Rolex 24 at Daytona, and two of Ganassi’s IndyCar drivers, Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan, in the sister No. 02 at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring. As Ganassi is not running the No. 02 at Watkins Glen, Karam provides a third driver for the No. 01 next week.

The defending Indy Lights champion, 19, led his first laps overall at Sebring and has finished 11th and sixth in the Prototype class in those two races.

He currently ranks third in the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup standings, with 22 points, only one behind leaders Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien Bourdais. Pruett, Rojas, and Sebring co-driver Marino Franchitti rank fifth with 20 points.

Franchitti is not expected to be in action at Watkins Glen, and Bourdais won’t be as he, Dixon and Kanaan are with the IndyCar contingent racing at Houston the same weekend.

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship