Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Meyer Shank Confirms No. 86 Acura, Legge for Rest of Season

Meyer Shank Racing commits its second Acura for remaining WeatherTech Championship races…

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

Meyer Shank Racing has committed its second Acura NSX GT3 for the remainder of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season. 

The Ohio-based team initially planned to enter the No. 86 car in just the four Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup rounds but has made additional race starts following several strong results.

Katherine Legge and Alvaro Parente have shared the car for most of the season so far while Trent Hindman, AJ Allmendinger and Mario Farnbacher have also made appearances behind the wheel.

Legge is currently second in the GT Daytona drivers’ standings and will continue for the rest of the season although her co-driver is currently yet to be announced.

She has driven with Parente at every race so far apart from Detroit when Farnbacher replaced the Portuguese driver and helped take the car to so far its only win of the season.

In addition, Lawson Aschenbach and Justin Marks will remain in the No. 93 car which finished second at Detroit, earning the team its first ever 1-2 finish.

“We’ve been so fortunate to have our partners stepping up and keep us going forward this year, and we are at the point of the season that we needed to make a full commitment one way or another,” said team owner Michael Shank.

“We are in a strong position right now in this championship so we want to keep our foot in it and go for it.

“It was critical to be able to manage this second entry without compromising anything else that we are doing as an organization.

“So I’m happy to have some of our long-time sponsors as well as some new ones help us keep pushing all the way to the end.

“Now that we have this confirmed we can just put our heads down and focus on the championship.”

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in WeatherTech Championship