Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Porsche Scores 1-2 in Team’s Final GTLM Race

Porsche scores third straight 12H Sebring win in factory squad’s final GTLM outing…

Photo: Porsche

Porsche’s Nick Tandy and Fred Makowiecki have claimed their third consecutive Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring class victory, in a 1-2 finish for Porsche GT Team in its final IMSA GT Le Mans outing.

It came following late-race contact on the race’s final restart between two GTD cars that clipped the class-leading No. 25 Team RLL BMW M8 GTE of Connor De Philippi, which held command for the majority of the Florida enduro.

De Philippi pitted with damage to his BMW, giving way to the sister No. 24 entry of Jesse Krohn to finish third in class.

Tandy and Makowiecki shared top honors with Earl Bamber, who completed two stints in the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR-19, pulling double duty between the two cars.

Bamber took the No. 912 Porsche to the checkered flag, 9.025 seconds behind the class-winning entry, which he shared with Laurens Vanthoor and Neel Jani.

It came despite Vanthoor sustaining right-front bodywork damage after contact with a Corvette with three hours to go.

The No. 25 BMW was classified in fourth after a race to forget for Corvette Racing, which saw both Chevrolet Corvette C8.Rs suffer suspension damage.

Oliver Gavin, in his final outing as a full-season driver, was piloting the No. 4 Corvette at the time of two failures, while contact resulted in the No. 3 car losing nearly ten laps late in the stages.

Newly crowned class champions Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor, along with Nicky Catsburg, finished fifth in class

The No. 4 Corvette, meanwhile, spent considerable time behind the wall, first for a water leak that sent the two leading GT Daytona class cars into the barriers in the third hour. 

It was followed by another spin triggered by suspension failure with Gavin also at the wheel.

RESULTS: Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship