Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Pruett Named Rolex 24 Grand Marshal

Scott Pruett has been named Grand Marshal for this year’s Rolex 24 at Daytona…

Photo: IMSA

Five-time Rolex 24 At Daytona champion Scott Pruett will serve as Grand Marshal for the 57th anniversary race, giving the “Drivers, start your engines” command for the twice-around-the-clock classic.

At Daytona, he owns five Rolex 24 overall victories, an all-time record he shares with Hurley Haywood, and also holds the record for Rolex 24 class victories with 10.

Other Daytona successes include two summer sports car victories and a triumph in the 1991 International Race of Champions series opening round.

“It’s impossible for me to sum up, in just a few words, how honored I am to be chosen as Grand Marshal for the 57th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona,” Pruett said.

“This track is truly special to me for so many reasons. To be the Grand Marshal in itself is wonderful and to be it while ushering in the 50th Anniversary of IMSA makes it all the more special.

“It’s going to be an emotional weekend and start of the race for me, personally, as I’m sure I will miss suiting up and taking the wheel.”

Pruett has raced in many forms of motorsports including NASCAR, open wheel, sports car and karting. He retired from competition following the 2018 Rolex 24 as the all-time leader in IMSA with 60 victories and seven championships.

Daytona Beach was the setting for another career milestone for Pruett in 2017, when he was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, which resides in the speedway’s Ticket and Tours Building.

“Scott Pruett is a true American legend in road racing,” Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile said.

“In a career that has spanned 50 years, Scott has experienced numerous successes and triumphs, many of them right here at Daytona International Speedway.

“He was a versatile driver who was always relentless and focused on track, and an engaging personality off the track. We look forward to having Scott preside as Grand Marshal for the Rolex 24 At Daytona.”

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship