Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Starworks Adds Martini Livery to No. 8 PC Car in Monterey

No. 8 PC car to feature Martini livery at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca…

Photo: Starworks Motorsport

Photo: Starworks Motorsport

The Martini brand returns to American sports car racing for the Continental Tire Monterey Grand Prix, powered by Mazda, at Mazda Raceway this weekend when the iconic stripes will adorn the No. 8 Starworks Oreca FLM09 Prototype Challenge car in the new annual 2-hour event.

A Martini-sponsored Porsche 917 driven by Vic Elford (UK) and Gerard Larousse (Fra) won the Sebring 12 Hours in 1971. Now, 43 years later, Mirco Schultis and Renger van der Zande will be hoping to return one of the most historic liveries in the history of motor sport to the top step of the podium at the Monterey debut, and third round, of the 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

The field for the TUSC race has been split in to two due to size. Race 1 of the Continental Tire Monterey Grand Prix Powered by Mazda PC and GTD classes takes place on Sunday 4th May at 1:15 PM ET (2 hours). The P and GTLM classes will run shortly after at 5:45 PM ET (2 hours).

The No. 8 Starworks Oreca FLM09 currently lies third in the Prototype Challenge standings after the Daytona 24 Hours and Sebring 12 Hours.

“We are tremendously excited to bring back the famous livery to sports car racing in the USA,” said Peter Baron, Starworks team principal. “The fantastic news is that, with Mirco and Renger in the car, we are confident it will return to victory lane!

“This new livery also coincides with the start of the championship drive. The aim is to get through the 24 and 12-hour in the best position possible without losing points from a disaster. We are now confident that our line-up of Mirco and Renger in the 2-driver format races will be challenging for wins every time we go out and of bringing Martini into victory lane.”

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.


More in WeatherTech Championship