Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Formal, Francis Jr. Claim Super Trofeo Poles at The Glen

Grids set for Watkins Glen, Wane Taylor Racing with Andretti and TR3 Racing fastest…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Danny Formal and Ernie Francis Jr. claimed pole positions for Rounds 5 and 6 of Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America at Watkins Glen International Raceway on Friday.

The reigning series champion reeled off a 1:47.240 in the first of two 15-minute qualifying sessions to place his No. 1 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO2 ahead of Giano Taurino’s No. 88 TR3 Racing entry.

ANSA Motorsprots’ Loris Cabirou was third fastest overall in the first session in the car he shares with Bryson Morris.

Pro class points leader Kiko Porto will start Race 1 from fourth on the grid, with Scott Huffaker rounding out the top-five in his No. 22 World Speed Lamborghini.

A late improvement saw John Capestro-Dubets top the times in Pro-Am aboard the No. 46 Precision Performance Motorsports car he co-drives with Tom Capizzi, just 0.041 seconds clear of Alexandre Premat’s Forte Lamborghini.

WTRAndretti also topped the Am class times with class points-leader Glenn McGee comfortably outpacing Dominic Starkweather and finishing the session in the top-ten.

Meanwhile, David Cardenas put his No. 7 ANSA Lamborghini on the LB Cup pole.

Ofir Levy spun his No. 13 LB Cup class Forte Racing Lamborghini at Turn 1 about halfway through Q1, but continued without drama, despite the incident being briefly reviewed by race control.

Francis Jr. will lead the 38-car field to green in Sunday’s Race 2 in his No. 88 TR3 machine with his 1:48.011 lap time in second qualifying placing him at the top of the time sheets.

ANSA’s Nico Jamin will start alongside the Trans-Am star in second with Nico Jamin in third aboard the No. 1 WTRAndretti Lamborghini.

Jeroen Bleekemolen topped the times in Pro-Am in the No. 54 Flying Lizard Motorsports entry he shares with long-time co-driver Tim Pappas.

Forty7 Motorsports’ Joel Miller was second fastest in class, two tenths down on Bleekemolen’s quickest Q2 lap.

One Motorsports took both the Am class and LB Cup poles with Anthony Bullock quickest in Am and Nick Groat pacing the LB Cup field.

Michael Staab and Paul Nemschoff both spun separately in second qualifying but each driver continued without interrupting the session.

Capizzi and Auto Technic Racing’s Mark Brummond were both assessed penalties for speeding in pit lane during second qualifying, while all of Robert Soroka’s Q2 lap times were invalidated after his crew was found to have worked on his No. 25 Alliance Racing entry during the session.

Race 1 will go green at 5:20 p.m. EDT this evening featuring live coverage of the 50-minute contest on Peacock and, with Race 2 scheduled for 4:55 p.m. EDT on Saturday.

RESULTS: Qualifying 1/Qualifying 2

Jonathan Grace is the host of Sportscar365's Double Stint Podcast and a contributor to the web site's IMSA-sanctioned race coverage.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA