Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Formal, Marcelli Claim NOLA Pole Lockout for Prestige, WTR

Grids set for pair of 50-minute Super Trofeo North America races at NOLA Motorsports Park…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Danny Formal and Kyle Marcelli claimed a pole position lockout for Prestige Performance with Wayne Taylor Racing for this weekend’s pair of Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America races at NOLA Motorsports Park.

Formal reeled off a best lap time of 1:35.484 in his No. 1 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO2 to edge out Friday’s pace-setting No. 30 ANSA Motorsports entry of Nelson Piquet Jr. by 0.093 seconds.

Edoardo Liberati will line up third overall for Race 1 in the No. 27 Dream Racing Lamborghini, followed by Pro class points leader Patrick Kujala in the No. 50 O’Gara Motorsport/Change Racing/USRT entry.

Bryan Ortiz completed the top-five overall and claimed Pro-Am class pole in his No. 47 Precision Performance Motorsports Lamborghini thanks to a late flyer in Q1.

Marcelli, meanwhile, put in a late flyer in Q2 to go quickest in the session. The Canadian’s 1:36.149 time edged out Liberati, who held provisional pole for the majority of the 15-minute session, by 0.052 seconds.

Piquet set the third quickest time overall in the session followed by the No. 46 PPM Lamborghini of John Dubets. who earned the Pro-Am pole for Race 2.

Top qualifying honors in Am went to Tyler Hoffman (Race 1) and Jordan O’Brien (Race 2) for TPC Racing and ANSA, respectively.

Flying Lizard Motorsports’ Slade Stewart took pole for Race 1 in LB Cup with Charlie Martin scoring her first career pole for Race 2 in the No. 54 Dream Racing Lamborghini.

Race 1 gets underway today at 4:30 p.m. CT with live coverage on Peacock and

RESULTS: Qualifying 1/Qualifying 2

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA