Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Formal, Marcelli Take First Win of Season at Road America

First victory of season for Formal, Marcelli as WTR wins three out of four classes…

Photo: Jamey Price

Danny Formal and Kyle Marcelli earned their first win of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America season with an assured drive from pole in Saturday’s race at Road America.

The Prestige Performance with Wayne Taylor Racing pair took a convincing victory, with Formal resisting early pressure from Loris Spinelli before handing over to Marcelli who completed the job.

WTR triumphed in three-quarters of the competing classes as Jordan Missig and Ashton Harrison earned top honors in Pro-Am and Am respectively.

Formal soaked up the pressure from Spinelli through the opening 20 minutes, before peeling off early in the mid-race pit window to hand the No. 1 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo Evo over to Marcelli.

Spinelli, meanwhile, continued to lap until the end of the window in preparation for his co-driver Claude Senhoreti’s turn behind the wheel of their Pro-Am Taurino Racing car.

Senhoreti emerged from the pit sequence in third, behind race leader Marcelli and Jeroen Mul who had taken over the No. 16 Change Racing Lamborghini from Stevan McAleer.

McAleer climbed from sixth to third in the opening stint, getting past Steven Aghakhani, Max Weering and Alec Udell who had an early off-track moment.

Despite the lead gap reducing over the final few minutes, Marcelli managed to keep Mul at bay to secure victory by 2.887 seconds.

Aghakhani’s co-driver Jacob Eidson was third for O’Gara Motorsport/USRT, while Spinelli’s driving partner Senhoreti had faded to 12th overall, and fourth in class, by the finish.

Missig came through in fourth to claim his first Pro-Am win of the season, with just under two seconds in hand to points leaders Brandon Gdovic and Bryan Ortiz.

Solo drivers Weering and Udell ended up sixth and seventh, while Am class winner Harrison was eighth.

Harrison took the lead of her class with an overtake on pole-sitter Sebastian Carazo after 11 minutes of racing and remained in that position until the checkered flag.

O’Gara/USRT driver John Hennessy posted a career-first victory in LB Cup, with Matt Dicken and Justin Price rounding out the fourth class podium on offer.

Pro championship leader Richard Antinucci and his co-driver Dario Capitano finished 18th after their Dream Racing Lamborgini lost its left-rear wheel after exiting the pits.


Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA