Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Hindman, Cecotto Claim Race 2 Win at Watkins Glen

Hindman, Cecotto pick up Lamborghini Super Trofeo Race 2 win at Watkins Glen…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

It was quite the weekend for the Wayne Taylor Racing and Lamborghini Paramus drivers Trent Hindman and Jonathan Cecotto.

After a strong overall second place finish in Friday’s Round 3, which was also first in the Pro Class, the team followed that with their first overall victory of the season with a strong run throughout the 50-minute Round Four race at Watkins Glen International.

Cecotto started on the outside of Row 1 and avoided an incident in the first turn as pole-sitter Shinya Sean Michimi suffered damage to his suspension after contact which placed him, and his team, at the back of the field for the remainder of the race.

Cecotto made a bold pass in the famous Esses of the iconic 3.4-mile circuit to take a lead that the team would basically not give up the rest of the race. Hindman took over on the mandatory pit stop with 28 minutes remaining and was challenged by the No. 71 P1 Motorsports, Lamborghini Broward driven by Loris Spinelli.

Spinelli cut the gap to just over a second, but Hindman pulled away in the closing laps and won by 4.234 seconds.

“It was nerve-wracking to say the least,” Hindman said. “I think I overdrove the tire at the end and tried to hang on.

“We were a little disappointed with our race yesterday. But the Wayne Taylor boys and the Prestige Perfomance guys grinded all night and gave us a great car.”

Corey Lewis and Madison Snow finished third but will remain on top of the class standings with 48 points. That gives the pair a two-point lead of Taylor Proto and Edorado Piscopo who finished second Saturday. Brandon Gdovic and Michimi are still in third with 43 points followed by Hindman and Cecotto who now have 35.

Spinelli and his teammate, JC Perez, earned their third consecutive class win as they finished first in the Pro Am class outlasting the No. 47 PPM, Lamborghini Palm Beach entry driven by Pippa Mann and Patrick Liddy. The victory increased their class standing lead to seven points (58-51) over Liddy.

Ryan Hardwick, in the No. 2 Dream Racing Motorsport, Lamborghini Atlanta, continued his dominance of Watkins Glen as he won for the second time this weekend in the Am Class and for the fourth time in his career.

He overcame sliding back into third place midway through the race to finish the victory off by passing Brian Thienes late in the race. He increased his class lead to seven over Damon Ockey, who finished third, and nine over Thienes.

In the LB Cup, Brett Meredith in the No. 66 GMG Racing, Lamborghini Newport Beach won his first race. He made the most of his first weekend in the series as he finished second Friday after starting on the pole and turned the pole into his first career victory Saturday.

Mark Proto and Parris Mullins in the No. 88 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini La Jolla finished third but remained on top of the class standings with 57 points.

Sheena Monk, driver of the No. 7 Wayne Taylor Racing Lamborghini Paramus, finished second in the race and remains in second in the standings.


Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA