Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Lamborghini Names 34-Driver Development Program Intake

Lamborghini Squadra Corse names 16 Young Drivers and 18 GT3 Juniors for the 2020 season…

Photo: Lamborghini

Lamborghini has named the new intake of 34 drivers who will be a part of the manufacturer’s Young Driver and GT3 Junior development programs this year.

The Young Driver program is for racers under the age of 26 who are engaged in Lamborghini Super Trofeo competitions, while the GT3 Junior scheme marks a step up.

A total of 13 drivers in the Young Driver initiative are currently racing in Lamborghini ST Europe, while three of the participants – Jacob Eidson, Patrick Liddy and Steven Aghakhani – come from the North America series.

The program’s members will be observed throughout the season prior to an end-of-year assessment that will determine who gains GT3 Junior driver status for 2021.

The selected candidate will receive a factory-supported drive in a regional GT championship next year.

Last year’s winner Danny Kroes, who won the 2019 Super Trofeo Europe title, is now a member of the GT3 Junior program which has an intake of 18 drivers this season.

Other inductees include former Young Driver Frederik Schandorff and Lamborghini newcomers Leonardo Pulcini, Florian Latorre, Baptiste Moulin and Tuomas Tujula.

A similar observation process will lead to a GT3 Junior assessment at the end of the year, which carries the possibility of graduation to factory driver status.

Lamborghini’s youth development program is led by former works driver Raffaele Giammaria, while on and off-track tuition is also provided by five-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Emanuele Pirro.

2020 Lamborghini Young Driver Program

Steven Aghakhani (17) – USA
Sebastian Balthasar (23) – Germany
Dorian Boccolacci (21) – France
Jonathan Cecotto (21) – Venezuela
Jacob Eidson (25) – USA
Damiano Fioravanti (24) – Italy
Raul Guzman (20) – Mexico
Patrick Liddy (23) – USA
Stuart Middleton (20) – UK
Elias Niskanen (20) – Finland
Marcus Påverud (20) – Norway
Guillem Pujeu (19) – Spain
Kevin Rossel (25) – Denmark
Vincent Schwartz (23) – Germany
Yuri Wagner (19) – Luxembourg
Max Weering (20) – Netherlands

2020 Lamborghini GT3 Junior Driver Program

Andrea Amici (27) – Italy
Alberto Di Folco (24) – Italy
Kikko Galbiati (21) – Italy
Danny Kroes (20) – Netherlands
Florian Latorre (23) – France
Corey Lewis (28) – USA
Lucas Mauron (22) – Switzerland
Sandy Mitchell (20) – UK
Baptiste Moulin (20) – Belgium
Yuki Nemoto (23) – Japan
Taylor Proto (22) – UK
Leonardo Pulcini (22) – Italy
Frederik Schandorff (23) – Denmark
Steijn Schothorst (25) – Netherlands
Madison Snow (24) – USA
Tuomas Tujula (23) – Finland
Afiq Yazid (29) – Malaysia
Tim Zimmermann (23) – Germany

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA