Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Ockey Wins Race 2, Hardwick Takes Am World Final Title

Damon Ockey wins Race 2 while Ryan Hardwick clinches Am World Final at Vallelunga…

Photo: Lamborghini

Damon Ockey has won Lamborghini World Final Am/LB Cup Race 2, but a third place finish was enough for Ryan Hardwick to take the Am class championship on a tiebreaker.

The race was a stop-and-go affair with multiple safety car interventions breaking up the second half of 50-minute event.

Ockey, driving solo in the No. 109 US Racetronics entry, started on pole and held off Race 1 winner Hardwick during the first stint, while Manuel Lauck applied extreme pressure during the second half of the race in pursuit of the World Final championship.

Ultimately Ockey held on by 1.158 seconds, and while the second place finish was enough to draw Lauck and his co-driver Florian Scholze even with Hardwick on points, the American was able to break the tie by virtue of his qualifying results on Saturday.

Davide Roda finished fourth while Shea Holbrook and Martin Barkey took the fifth position in class.

LB Cup class honors weren’t decided until the final minutes when Joseph Collado made the pass of Takamichi Matsuda for second on the road, but race leader Brett Meredith had been given a 30 second post-race penalty for a pit stop time infringement that dropped him down to sixth in the final standings.

The win was enough to clinch the LB Cup title for Collado and his AGS Events team.

Matsuda and co-driver Dai Yaoshihara finished second in the No. 230 YH Racing car, while Gabriele Murroni was third for GDL Racing Team.

RESULTS: Am/LB Cup Race 2

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA