Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Series Record 30-Car Entry for COTA Season Opener

All-time-high Pro class participation, multiple new teams, drivers in single-make series…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

A series’ record of 30 entries are set for next weekend’s Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America season opener at Circuit of The Americas.

Released by IMSA on Wednesday, the bumper grid comprises of numerous drivers and teams that are new to the single-make series, as well as several names returning to the grid after a season away.

The Pro class features an all-time high nine-car entry headlined by reigning champion Madison Snow, who returns to Change Racing but with new co-driver Stevan McAleer. 

Runners-up Steven Aghakhani and Jacob Eidson are also back in their O’Gara Motorsport/US RaceTronics Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo Evo, while set to receive stiff competition from several newcomers to the series.

It includes reigning IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge champion Kyle Marcelli, who has teamed with Danny Formal in a Wayne Taylor Racing-prepared Prestige Performance Lamborghini, as well as ANSA Motorsports’ two-car Pro lineup including Nico Jamin and Scott Andrews.

Former series champion Richard Antinucci, meanwhile, makes his racing return as part of a three-car effort from Dream Racing Motorsport, while Alec Udell is set to also compete for top overall honors in a Lamborghini entered by veteran single-make Porsche outfit Kelly-Moss Road and Race, which also has three cars entered.

Ex-Ferrari Challenge North America entrants TR3 Racing, which has switched to Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo machinery in SRO America, will also compete in Super Trofeo North America this year, headlined by a Pro entry from Daniel Mancinelli. 

Mark Issa and Sandro Espinosa will pilot the team’s second entry, which will fight for Am class honors.

A total of seven Am cars are currently entered alongside five Pro-Am and nine LB Cup entrants, with the majority of teams fielding multiple entries. 

Change Racing (five), WTR/Prestige (four) and O’Gara/USRT (four) are the most represented.

Of note, former Pro class competitor Brandon Gdovic will race for Pro-Am class honors this year in one of two Precision Performance Motorsports entries, racing alongside Bryan Ortiz.

In addition to Kelly-Moss, among the newcomers to the series include MCR Racing with a Pro class entry for Max Weering and LB Cup effort with Michael Mennella and Bart Collins, as well as the two-car Taurino Racing operation with Super Trofeo Europe ace Loris Spinelli among the driver lineup.

The pair of season opening rounds will be running alongside NASCAR’s debut at COTA, as part of a packed weekend of racing.

Track action kicks off on Friday, May 21 with a pair of practice sessions prior to qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday (6 p.m. CT) followed by Race 2 Sunday at 11:10 a.m. CT. Live streaming coverage will be available at

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA