Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Snow, McAleer Pick Up Race 2 Win at COTA

Madison Snow, Stevan McAleer collect Race 2 win after Antinucci penalty…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

A penalty for Richard Antinucci handed victory to Change Racing’s Madison Snow and Stevan McAleer in Race 2 of Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America at Circuit of The Americas.

Antinucci, who muscled his way to the Pro class lead with 20 minutes to go by an aggressive pass on Snow in Turn 11, was forced to serve a drive-through penalty for passing under a local yellow.

It relegated Saturday’s race-winning No. 27 Dream Racing Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo Evo to a fourth place finish.

Reigning Pro champion Snow took his No. 16 Change Racing entry across the line for his and McAleer’s first win of the season in a race that ended under full-course caution.

It marked McAleer’s first career Super Trofeo victory which has propelled he and Snow into the Pro points lead.

A heavy crash by the No. 82 Change Lamborghini of Scott Welham halted proceedings with less than ten minutes remaining, with the clock running out of time to restart the race.

The No. 48 Kelly-Moss Road and Race entry of Alec Udell, who was catching Snow prior to the yellow, finished second, ahead of the Prestige Performance with Wayne Taylor Racing duo of Kyle Marcelli and Danny Formal, who completed the overall and Pro class podium in third.

Victor Gomez claimed Pro-Am class honors after a late-race pass on the No. 51 Taurino Racing Lamborghini of Claude Senhoreti.

Senhoreti’s co-driver Loris Spinelli led overall from the start as Max Weering suffered an accident to bring out the first yellow on the opening lap. The race restarted with 36 minutes on the clock.

Ashton Harrison picked up Am class honors in the No. 25 Wayne Taylor Racing entry while Bill Peluchiwski came out on top in LB Cup, marking four different class winners compared to Saturday’s season-opener.

It wasn’t clear sailing for a number of competitors in Sunday’s 50-minute race, however.

The No. 6 O’Gara Motorsport/USRT Lamborghini, which challenged early in the hands of Jacob Eidson, suffered a right-rear puncture and finished just off the lead lap.

Daniel Mancinelli, meanwhile, was forced to serve a drive-through for passing before the start of the race in his No. 11 TR3 Racing Lamborghini, which finished seventh overall and fifth in class.

Saturday’s LB Cup winner Matt Dicken stopped on track during the final, race-ending yellow, dashing any hopes of a repeat podium finish for his Change entry.

The No. 46 Precision Performance Motorsports Lamborghini of Brandon Gdovic and Bryan Ortiz, which picked up Pro-Am class honors in Race 1, rebounded from a drive-through penalty for not meeting the minimum pit stop time to finish third in class on Sunday.


John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA