Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Super Trofeo Watkins Glen Weekend Notebook

John Dagys’ Lamborghini Super Trofeo weekend notebook from Watkins Glen…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

***While taking the checkered flag in first, the No. 50 US Racetronics Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO of Taylor Proto and Edoardo Piscopo was handed a 7.5-second post-race penalty for not meeting the 90-second minimum pit stop time, dropping the pairing to second overall in Race 1 of the weekend at Watkins Glen International.

***Proto and Piscopo, however, still walked away with the Pro Cup class win, with the No. 71 P1 Motorsports Lamborghini of Loris Spinelli and JC Perez now taking the overall victory, in addition to Pro-Am honors. 

***The No. 46 PPM entry also dropped a position due to not meeting the minimum pit stop time, moving from third to fourth overall as a result of a 2.7-second post-race penalty, while Brian Thienes lost the Am class victory, as a result of a short pit stop as well. Click Here for the provisional results from Race 1.

***After setting the quickest lap in the opening race of the weekend, the No. 46 PPM Lamborghini of Shinya Michimi will start from the overall pole in Race 2, ahead of the No. 1 Wayne Taylor Racing car driven by Jonathan Cecotto and Perez’s P1 entry. Click Here for the provisional grid.

***Perez is one of several drivers pulling double-duty between two IMSA-sanctioned series this weekend. Both Perez and Madison Snow are taking part in Sunday’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen, in separate GT Daytona entries, while Trent Hindman and Martin Barkey are set for tomorrow’s four-hour Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge race in GS class machines.

***The LB Cup class has expanded to four entries this weekend, with the series debut of Justin Price in a second Dream Racing Lamborghini, as well as the No. 66 GMG Racing entry for Brett Meredith. The James Sofronas-led GMG squad, which was one of the founding teams of the series, makes its first start of the year.

***Alex Popow has made his Super Trofeo return, sharing the No. 10 WTR entry alongside William Hubbell. The pairing replaces Stevan McAleer and Randy Sellari, who shared driving duties of the No. 10 car in last month’s season-opener at Mid-Ohio.

***Other changes to the entry list since Mid-Ohio include Pippa Mann in the No. 47 PPM Lamborghini (pictured above) in place of Dylan Murcott, and a reduction from four cars to a single-car entry for P1 Motorsports.

***Perez and Spinelli are coming off their fourth consecutive Pro-Am class victory in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe competition last weekend in Misano. The pairing have extended their championship lead as a result of the sweep of the weekend in a Huracan Super Trofeo Evo prepared by Antonelli Motorsport.

***Change Racing’s Corey Lewis threw out the first pitch in Thursday evening’s Syracuse Chiefs baseball game. The Triple-A team is an affiliate of the Washington Nationals MLB outfit.

***The Lamborghini Urus, the Italian manufacturer’s newly released SUV, is on display this weekend in the Lamborghini Village. The 4.0-liter twin-turbo V8-powered vehicle packs 650 horsepower with a variety of luxury options. It is the second SUV-style vehicle to be produced by Lamborghini after the LM002.

***The official Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America Spotter Guide has been updated for this weekend and features a number of new or revised liveries. Click Here to download the guide.

***Watch Race 2 of the weekend live on, with coverage beginning Saturday at 10:15 a.m. EDT. Highlights from the weekend will air on CBS Sports Network at a later date. Check your local listings for exact dates and times of the broadcast.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA