Connect with us

Asian Le Mans Series

Details on Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup Emerge

Regulations for Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Series released…

Photo: Jun Qian

Photo: Jun Qian

The ACO has released the preliminary regulations for the new Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup, which will launch later this year as part of the organization’s expansion in the Asia-Pacific region.

The new six-round series, racing exclusively at Sepang, will be open for LMP3, carbon-tubbed CN cars, as well as GT Cup machinery, such as cars from the Audi R8 LMS Cup, Lamborghini Super Trofeo, Ferrari Challenge, Porsche Carrera Cup and more.

Each weekend will feature two 60-minute races with a mandatory pit stop, with a maximum of two drivers per car, but with a Bronze or Silver-rated driver being allowed to drive solo.

One Bronze driver will be mandatory, with the second driver able to be Bronze or Silver. Gold and Platinum-rated drivers not allowed.

Champions in all three classes will be awarded a free entry for the 2016/2017 Asian Le Mans Series season, or a 15 percent discount if already entered in the Asian LMS.

Michelin will be the exclusive tire supplier of the Sprint Cup, which kicks off on May 27-29, with two additional weekends scheduled for Aug 7-9 and Sept. 2-4.

Click Here for the full set of preliminary regulations.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in Asian Le Mans Series