Connect with us

Asian Le Mans Series

The Bend Replaces Fuji on 2019-20 Schedule

Fuji drops off 2019-20 Asian Le Mans Series schedule, night race at Sepang…

Photo: MPS Agency

A four-race schedule for next season’s Asian Le Mans Series has been announced, revealing that the new round at The Bend Motorsport Park is replacing Fuji Speedway’s slot on the calendar.

It was announced last month that the Australian venue would host the country’s first Asian LMS round, while series organizers recently revealed it would take the existing Buriram date of Jan. 10-12.

Despite this, the newly-built track isn’t replacing the Thai circuit on next season’s calendar, but rather Fuji, with the remaining rounds shaken up in a new-look schedule.

Buriram will now host the series finale on Feb. 23, the same weekend as this season’s finale at Sepang, which takes place on Sunday.

Sepang, which has traditionally held the final round of the season, will now host the third round on Feb. 14-15, with a race finishing in the darkness.

The championship gets underway on Nov. 22-24 at Shanghai, just as it did this season.

A statement released by the series revealed that the calendar has been designed to avoid clashes with other series and events in the region, while also allowing for transport times for global teams.

Four invitations to the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans will be awarded in the same way they were for the current season, to the winners of the LMP2, LMP2 Am, LMP3 and GT classes.

Current-gen LMP2 cars will be eligible in the top LMP2 class for the first time, while the previous-gen cars will only be permitted in the LMP2 Am category.

2019-20 Asian Le Mans Series Schedule:

Nov. 22-24 – Shanghai
Jan. 10-12 – The Bend
Feb. 14-15 – Sepang
Feb. 21-23 – Buriram

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.

Click to comment

More in Asian Le Mans Series