Connect with us

Asian Le Mans Series

United Completes Asian Lineup

United Autosports finalizes its Asian Le Mans Series lineup ahead of season opener this month…

Photo: MPS Agency

United Autosports has named the final three drivers in its four-car lineup for the 2018-19 Asian Le Mans Series.

Garett Grist, Wayne Boyd and Chris Buncombe will co-drive one of the team’s Ligier JS P3 Nissans in the four-round championship, which gets underway on Nov. 25.

United is entering a quartet of cars this season with two Ligier JS P2 Nissans in the LMP2 category along with a pair of LMP3 cars.

Canadian Grist will continue with the English team after joining for this year’s European Le Mans Series.

The 23-year-old, who has raced in Pro Mazda and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, finished third in the LMP3 standings with United co-drivers Matt Bell and Tony Wells.

Boyd comes into United’s Asian lineup having spent the season just gone with the team’s LMP2 squad, while new addition Buncombe is a former LMP1 driver who won the 24 Hours of Le Mans LMP2 class in 2007, driving a Binnie Motorsports Lola B05/42.

“I worked with Chris many years ago when I was running Team JLR in Vauxhall Juniors and he has come a long way since those days,” said Richard Dean, United Autosports managing director.

“I’m looking forward to working with him again – he definitely has some prototype experience to bring to the team, which is always beneficial.

“Bringing Garett back to the team is a good addition too. He has fit in really well since joining us at the start of our European season back in April.

“Wayne will also bring his LMP3 experience with him so I think this is a very good line up and we are aiming for the championship win.”

United has now completed all four of its driver lineups ahead of its inaugural Asian campaign.

Paul di Resta and Phil Hanson will make up one of its LMP2 crews while reigning LMP3 champions Guy Cosmo and Patrick Byrne will team with Salih Yoluc in the second top-class entry.

The second LMP3 car will be driven by Matt Bell, Jim McGuire and Kay van Berlo.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Asian Le Mans Series