Connect with us

24H Le Mans

McNish, Alonso Named Grand Marshal, Starter for LM24

Allan McNish, Fernando Alonso named grand marshal, starter for LM24…

Photo: Audi/Ferrari

Photo: Audi/Ferrari

Allan McNish and Fernando Alonso will be among the dignitaries that will be honored in this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Automobile Club de l’Ouest announced Monday.

McNish, a three-time race winner and reigning FIA World Endurance champion, will serve as Grand Marshal for the 82nd running of the event, while two-time Formula One World Champion and Ferrari factory driver Alonso has been named the race starter.

Additionally, longtime Corvette Racing program manager Doug Fehan will be awarded the prestigious “Spirit of Le Mans” trophy during race week.

The Scot, who retired from racing last year, will be tasked with driving the pace car during the formation lap, along with other yet-to-be-announced duties.

Alonso, meanwhile, will wave the tri-colour flag to signal the start of the race. IMSA chairman Jim France had that honor last year.

“I am very happy to have been chosen to start this race,” Alonso told “because it is one of a handful of races that has defined the history of motorsport.

“I’m keen to check out the details on this type of car. In Formula 1, we have also entered the hybrid era and I am curious to find out more about the working methods and technology involved in this series.”

While not having taken part in the race as a driver, the Spaniard represents Ferrari, which has 14 cars in the field — the most of any manufacturer this year.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in 24H Le Mans