Connect with us

Road to Le Mans

50 Entries Confirmed for Road to Le Mans; GT3 Grid Doubles

Freddie Hunt, Jan Lammers, Flick Haigh amongst the drivers taking part in Road to Le Mans…

Photo: MPS Agency

A total of 50 cars, including 33 LMP3s, have been confirmed on the entry list for the fourth edition of the Road to Le Mans.

The pair of 55-minute support races for the 24 Hours of Le Mans includes entries drawn from the Michelin Le Mans Cup, European Le Mans Series, Asian Le Mans Series and elsewhere.

Le Mans Cup points leaders and defending Road to Le Mans winners Duncan Tappy and Michael Benham will return in a Lanan Racing Norma M30 Nissan, while 2018 race 1 winner Mikkel Jensen is back to drive Eurointernational’s Ligier JS P3 Nissan with Jens Petersen.

Freddie Hunt, the son of 1976 Formula 1 world champion James Hunt, will make his Circuit de la Sarthe debut in one of two RLR MSport Ligiers.

The French team run by quadruple amputee Frederic Sausset – who raced in the 24-hours under a Garage 56 entry in 2016 – will also take part.

Former Grand Prix motorcycle racer Takuma Aoki, who was left paralyzed after an accident in 1998, and left-hand amputee Snoussi Benmoussa, will co-drive a specially-modified Ligier.

Asian Le Mans Series team Viper Niza Racing will enter a single Ligier while United Autosports, Graff, Cool Racing, Nielsen Racing and DKR Engineering are all fielding entries with three cars or more.

17-Car GT3 Lineup Confirmed

In the GT3 ranks, 17 cars spread across six manufacturers will compete, marking the second-largest Road to Le Mans field for the class.

Ferrari leads the entry count with nine cars, while there are also four Mercedes-AMG GT3s listed.

Oswalso Negri Jr and Francesco Piovanetti will share one of three Spirit of Race Ferrari 488 GT3s while 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship GTE-Am champion Rui Aguas will also race for the AF Corse-backed team.

1988 Le Mans winner Jan Lammers will co-drive a Bentley Continental GT3 with South African racer Greg Mills in an entry under the Team Africa banner.

WEC squad TF Sport will enter an Aston Martin Vantage GT3 with reigning British GT champion Flick Haigh nominated to drive, with Beechdean also listed to run the new Aston model.

Villorba Corse will bring a single Lamborghini Huracan GT3 while Ebimotors is the only team entering a Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Road to Le Mans