Connect with us


34 Cars on Provisional 1000-Mile Sebring Entry

Ferrari, Aston Martin with additional drivers for Sebring’s first WEC race since 2012…

Photo: Ferrari

A provisional 34-car entry list has been released for the FIA World Endurance Championship’s return to Sebring in March.

Both Aston Martin and Ferrari will run additional drivers in their GTE-Pro cars for the longest race outside the two editions of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Aston Martin factory drivers Darren Turner and Jonny Adam will return to GTE-Pro action after being shuffled out of the British marque’s lineup for Silverstone.

Turner will partner Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen in the Shanghai-winning No. 95 Aston Martin Vantage GTE, while Adam will join Alex Lynn and Maxime Martin in the sister No. 97 car.

Adam’s confirmation means there is now a gap to be filled at GTE-Am squad TF Sport, which ran the Scot in its previous-generation Vantage at Silverstone, Fuji and Shanghai.

AF Corse, meanwhile, has added Ferrari factory driver Miguel Molina and 2017 Le Mans class winner Daniel Serra to its Sebring lineup.

Serra, who took pole for this year’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring in a Ferrari 488 GT3, will co-drive the Italian manufacturer’s No. 51 GTE car with Alessandro Pier Guidi and James Calado.

Molina will return to the No. 71 car that he shared with full-season drivers Davide Rigon and Sam Bird at Le Mans.

Ford Chip Ganassi Racing also looks set to run three-drivers although no names have been confirmed yet, while Porsche and BMW will run with the standard two-driver lineup.

Augusto Farfus is set to return to BMW Team MTEK for his third appearance of the 2018-19 ‘Super Season’.

The Brazilian missed Shanghai because of a clash with the FIA GT Nations Cup at Macau, which he won, and also had commitment clashes for Spa and Fuji earlier in the year.

Other changes to the Sebring entry include the return of Henrik Hedman to the DragonSpeed LMP1 team, and the confirmation of Clearwater Racing’s drivers following the retirement of Weng Sun Mok after the previous round at Shanghai.

Clearwater will run silver-rated Italian Matteo Cressoni and bronze-rated Luis Perez Companc in its Ferrari 488 GTE alongside Matt Griffin, in place of Mok and Keita Sawa.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC