Connect with us


FIA Publishes 2020 Driver Ratings

Final FIA driver ratings list for the 2020 sports car racing season published…

Image: FIA

The FIA has released the final list of driver ratings for the 2020 sports car racing season.

Categorizations from Bronze through to Platinum will be used to determine the composition of Pro-Am driver lineups in championships around the world.

FIA Formula 2 champion Nyck de Vries and Audi GT ace Kelvin van der Linde are the only two drivers to be upgraded from Gold to Platinum, while four have gone in the reverse direction.

Drivers who have been lowered from Gold to Silver status include 2012 FIA GT1 world champion Marc Basseng, 2016 Nurburgring 24 runner-up Christian Hohenadel and five-time Le Mans winner Frank Biela.

Examples of those moving the other way from Silver to Gold include BMW DTM racer Sheldon van der Linde, Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup Silver champion Nico Bastian and six full-season drivers from the FIA World Endurance Championship.

These are Charlie Robertson from LMP1, Gabriel Aubry from LMP2 and GTE-Am competitors Ross Gunn, Kei Cozzolino, Charlie Eastwood and Felipe Fraga.

They, as well as Job van Uitert who has contested one round of the 2019-20 season, will continue to bear their old driver ratings until the end of the campaign in June.

However, any drivers coming in for any of the rounds taking place after the New Year will be required to race under their new-for-2020 ratings.

Unlike in previous years, no provisional FIA rating list was publicly communicated this time around. However, it’s understood that a provisional copy was issued to affected drivers before the final release.

Furthermore, an IMSA spokesperson confirmed to Sportscar365 that the North American sanctioning body will not release a set of revised ratings for its own championships.

Notable driver rating changes:

Ahmad Al Harthy – Silver to Bronze
James Allen – Silver to Gold
Giacomo Altoe – Silver to Gold
Gabriel Aubry – Silver to Gold
Rodrigo Baptista – Silver to Gold
Marc Basseng – Gold to Silver
Nico Bastian – Silver to Gold
Frank Biela – Gold to Silver
Kei Cozzolino – Silver to Gold
Nyck de Vries – Gold to Platinum
Charlie Eastwood – Silver to Gold
Felipe Fraga – Silver to Gold
Marino Franchitti – Platinum to Gold
Vittorio Ghirelli – Gold to Silver
Raffaele Giammaria – Gold to Silver
Memo Gidley – Silver to Bronze
Ross Gunn – Silver to Gold
Taylor Hagler – Bronze to Silver
Dan Harper – Silver to Gold
Christian Hohenadel – Gold to Silver
Russell Ingall – Silver to Bronze
Peter Kox – Gold to Silver
Vesko Kozarov – Bronze to Silver
Arjun Maini – Silver to Gold
Scott Maxwell – Silver to Bronze
Jon Miller – Bronze to Silver
Jorg Mueller – Platinum to Gold
Stephane Ortelli – Platinum to Gold
Nelson Panciatici – Platinum to Gold
Sergio Pianezzola – Bronze to Silver
Charlie Robertson – Silver to Gold
Ukyo Sasahara – Silver to Gold
Dominik Schwager – Gold to Silver
Drew Staveley – Bronze to Silver
Sheldon van der Linde – Silver to Gold
Kelvin van der Linde – Gold to Platinum
Job van Uitert – Silver to Gold

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in IMSA