Connect with us

24H Le Mans

G-Drive by Algarve Secures Late Le Mans Entry with Tandy, Jarvis

Tandy, Jarvis, Cullen to drive extra Oreca LMP2 entry at Le Mans as grid returns to 60 cars…

Photo: Asian LMS

G-Drive Racing by Algarve has secured a late entry into the 24 Hours of Le Mans in three weeks’ time, bringing the field back up to 60 cars for the French endurance classic.

2015 Le Mans overall winner Nick Tandy, his fellow IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship star Oliver Jarvis and Irish Silver-rated LMP2 competitor Ryan Cullen will drive the Goodyear-shod No. 16 Oreca 07 Gibson.

Tandy was originally set to drive for Porsche’s factory IMSA squad in GTE-Pro, but the CORE-run operation withdrew both its cars due to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic.

But the Englishman is now set for his first Le Mans LMP2 outing and his first appearance in the race driving a car that isn’t a Porsche after seven previous attempts.

Tandy has driven in LMP2 before, contesting part of the 2015 WEC season with KCMG in an Oreca 05.

2017 overall runner-up and LMP2 winner Jarvis, who drives for Mazda in IMSA’s DPi class, is set for his ninth Le Mans after making his GTE-Pro debut last year.

Cullen was initially a member of DragonSpeed’s lineup but will now be reunited with the Algarve Pro squad, with which he contested the 2018 ELMS season.

The 2019 Rolex 24 LMP2 winner made his Le Mans debut last year with United Autosports.

The inclusion of G-Drive’s entry in collaboration with Algarve Pro Racing brings the LMP2 field up to 24 cars and ensures a 60-car field for the race on Sept. 19-20.

The previous version of the Le Mans entry list issued last week showed 59 cars, following the withdrawal of the Thunderhead Carlin Racing Dallara P217 Gibson.

G-Drive already has its TDS Racing-operated European Le Mans Series car entered for Jean-Eric Vergne, Roman Rusinov and Mikkel Jensen, while Algarve Pro also has its ELMS car signed up for Matt McMurry, John Falb and Simon Trummer.

Algarve Pro was behind the G-Drive Oreca that won the 2019-20 Asian Le Mans Series title, earning Rusinov an automatic invitation for the 24-hour race.

The addition of the new LMP2 entry is the only change in the latest version of the Le Mans entry list.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in 24H Le Mans