Connect with us


More Lineups Confirmed in Updated 35-Car Entry for Spa

WEC issues updated entry list for 6H Spa with handful of lineups confirmed…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

More driving crews have been confirmed for round one of the FIA World Endurance Championship at Spa on May 1 following the publication of an updated entry list.

A total of 35 cars are set to contest the Total 6 Hours of Spa, down two from the initial 37-car field announced last month.

The absences are the two Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus SCG 007C Hypercars, which are now set to debut in the second round of the season at Portimao after further testing.

The driver updates on the entry list concern lineups in the LMP2 and GTE-Am categories. Last year’s IMSA LMP2 champion PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports will run Gabriel Aubry and Simon Trummer alongside Patrick Kelly in the No. 24 Oreca 07 Gibson.

Trummer was Kelly’s main co-driver for the American’s domestic title success in 2020, while Aubry drove for PR1 in the prior season’s IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup rounds.

 In the GTE-Am category, Dempsey-Proton Racing has finalized the lineup of its No. 88 Porsche 911 RSR-19 with Andrew Haryanto, Marco Seefried and reigning European Le Mans Series GTE champion Alessio Picariello teaming up together.

RSR model owner Haryanto and Picariello are due to drive for Absolute Racing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Proton is supporting Absolute’s maiden entry into that race in August.

Experienced GT racer Seefried is set for his first WEC start in six years, following his full season with Dempsey-Proton in 2015. 

Additionally, Norwegian racer Anders Buchardt has been named alongside Dennis Olsen in the No. 46 Team Project 1 GTE-Am Porsche.

Buchardt drove for Walkenhorst Motorsport in various events up to 2019, with his most recent appearance coming in that year’s Total 24 Hours of Spa in a BMW M6 GT3.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC