Connect with us

Other Series

Car Collection Motorsport Wins Hankook 12H Zandvoort

Car Collection Motorsport leads Mercedes clean sweep at 12H Zandvoort…

Photo: Marcel ten Caat

Photo: Marcel ten Caat

Car Collection Motorsport has won the inaugural Hankook 12H Zandvoort in The Netherlands, the third event of this year’s 24H Series.

The No. 3 Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 of Renger van der Zande, Mirco Schultis, Christian Bracke and Peter Schmidt completed 330 laps on the Zandvoort circuit and finished seven laps ahead of the No. 2 Hofor-Racing Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 driven by Michael Kroll, Roland Eggimann, Kenneth Heyer, Christiaan Frankenhout and Maximilian Buhk.

Hofor-Racing started part two of the race from pole position after finishing first in the first three hours last night, but the No. 9 Scuderia Praha Ferrari 458 Italia and the No. 33 Car Collection Motorsport Mercedes were never far away and took full advantage when the No. 2 had to come in with a problem.

Van der Zande moved into the lead and went on to lap the entire field, before handing over the car to Bracke. Behind Bracke, Peter Kox in the No. 9 Ferrari was several seconds per lap faster and the Dutchman unlapped himself and closed the gap to the No. 33 Mercedes, before taking the lead when the Mercedes pitted.

Jiri Pisarik couldn’t hold on to the lead as he was involved in an accident two and a half hours from the end. The Ferrari, the No. 105 Speedworks Motorsport Ginetta G50 of Christian Dick and the No. 47 DK Racing Event Renault Clio RS of Sonny Nielsen collided on the run down to Scheivlak and medical teams rushed to the scene.

Pisarik was released from the medical centre without injury, the other two drivers were transported to hospital for further checks, but both were reported to be conscious and responsive.

As a result of the crash, the No. 33 Car Collection Motorsport Mercedes got back the lead and after another stint by van der Zande it was team owner Schmidt who completed the final 25 minutes and to claim victory at Zandvoort. Buhk stopped his car on the penultimate lap with a possible wheel bearing failure.

The No. 3 Car Collection Motorsport entry completed a Mercedes podium clean sweeep, only just beating the No. 10 Leipert Motorsport Lamborghini Gallardo FL2 GT3. Dutchman Jeroen Mul’s strong effort went unrewarded, finishing 22 seconds behind the Mercedes.

V8 Racing’s Corvette C6.R finished fifth overall, ahead of the SP2 class winning No. 86 Besaplast Racing Team Audi TT RS.

RESULTS: Hankook 12H Zandvoort

Marcel ten Caat (@marceltencaat) is a contributor to Sportscar365 and other publications including

Click to comment

More in Other Series