Connect with us

Other Series

Flying Lizard Scores Repeat 25H Thunderhill Win

Flying Lizard takes second consecutive 25H Thunderhill win…

Photo: Bob Chapman/Autosport Image

Flying Lizard Motorsports has won the 25 Hours of Thunderhill for the second consecutive year, beating the Ryno Racing Team Ginetta G57s that struck trouble in the final hours.

Darren Law, Dion von Moltke, Johannes van Overbeek and Mike Hedlund shared the No. 45 Audi R8 LMS ultra to complete 751 laps of the Californian circuit.

While the pole-sitting No. 57 Ginetta put on a dominant performance leading the entire race until the closing stages, Ryno Racing Team hit problems with both of its cars, giving Flying Lizard the advantage with a little over two hours to go.

Ryno’s No. 5 Ginetta lost its rear-right wheel while the No. 57 car sustained rear-right suspension damage, in what appeared to be similar incidents within the space of 30 minutes. Both cars went back out on track after repairs, but still damaged.

However, Flying Lizard wasn’t able to take the full benefit of Ryno’s misfortune, as the Audi was awarded a 15-minute penalty for driving conduct. The Lizards kept the lead but the margin had been reduced.

Further complicating proceedings, the Audi began to suffer from a fuel intake issue that only allowed it to run a half-tank of fuel in the closing stages.

Nevertheless, van Overbeek took the Audi to the line, while Colin Braun brought the No. 57 car home in second, six laps down.

“Two in a row!” exclaimed Law. “We had some adversity this weekend. I didn’t think we would have gotten the prototype, but they had problems this morning and it worked out. We had that late penalty this morning. We had enough of a lead that it really didn’t matter, but it was an anxious moment.

“The car ran flawlessly, the Toyo Tires were great and the crew was right on all day. Everything came together. It was also nice to bookend the overall podium with our No. 74 Porsche coming in third place. Unbelievable!”

Flying Lizard’s second entry, the Porsche 911 RSR, finished third, while the No. 5 Ginetta was fourth.

The pair of Ginettas were shared between Ryno’s full lineup of drivers, with most drivers completing stints in both cars.

Braun, Parker Chase, Colton Herta, Bryan Herta, Ryan Carpenter and Randy Carpenter were responsible for the second and fourth-place finishes.

Flying Lizard and Ryno took the ES and ESR class wins respectively, while Diamond Level Motorsports took the ENP honors by default with a sixth-place overall finish.

Valkyrie Autosport won E0 with its Nissan 350Z, while Grip Racing was victorious in E1 with its BMW 330ci. The BMW 325is of KD Motorsports led the E2 class, and RAmotorsports’ Mazda Miata won in E3.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in Other Series