Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

Manthey Opts Against Nürburgring DQ Appeal

Manthey Racing Porsche squad won’t contest its N24 post-race exclusion…

Photo: Porsche

Manthey Racing will not appeal the post-race disqualification of its Porsche 911 GT3 R that finished second on the road in last month’s Nürburgring 24.

The No. 911 Porsche driven by Kevin Estre, Michael Christensen, Laurens Vanthoor and Earl Bamber was excluded from the results after it was found to have exceeded the power limit stated in the N24 Balance of Performance.

This came two weeks after the end of the race, which was ultimately won by the No. 4 Phoenix Racing-prepared Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo.

A Manthey team statement clarified that the source of the infraction was a non-compliant value generated by the car’s legal air restrictor.

It read: “The engine in our inspected No. 911 car complied with all the key points of the homologation.

“The only thing that was not consistent with the prescribed 2 x 34.6-millimeter diameter of the restrictor, which was the size we used, was the performance value calculated by the ADAC technical committee.

“We must accept that we did not check the plausibility of the value calculated by the organizer, neither on the test bench in Weissach nor on our chassis dynamometer in Meuspath. We accept the judgement and will not lodge an appeal.”

The Manthey Porsche had dominated the race for around 14 hours when it was called to serve five and a half minute stop-hold penalty for speeding through a yellow flag zone.

This dropped the car behind the winning Phoenix Audi of Dries Vanthoor, Frederic Vervisch, Pierre Kaffer and Frank Stippler, but it recovered to cross the line in second.

Manthey’s decision not to appeal effectively confirms the No. 3 Black Falcon Mercedes-AMG GT3 in second place, while Audi Sport Car Collection is now classified in third.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Nürburgring Endurance