Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

Seven BMW M4 GT3s Set for Car’s Nürburgring 24 Debut

ROWE, Walkenhorst, Schubert and Junior Team to represent BMW at Nürburgring 24…

Photo: BMW M Motorsport

A fleet of seven BMW M4 GT3s will contest this year’s Nürburgring 24, the German manufacturer has announced ahead of the car’s debut in the Nordschleife enduro.

ROWE Racing, Walkenhorst Motorsport, Schubert Motorsport and the BMW Junior Team will represent BMW at the race on May 28-29.

The lineup of teams brings together the organizations that are campaigning the new M4 GT3 in Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS Endurance Cup and the DTM.

Driver lineups for four of the seven N24 entries have been announced, with the three Walkenhorst crews still to be determined.

2020 winners Nick Yelloly and Nicky Catsburg will drive in different ROWE Racing machines. Yelloly is teamed up with fellow BMW factory drivers Augusto Farfus, Philipp Eng and Connor De Phillippi.

Farfus won the race in 2010 with Schnitzer Motorsport while De Phillippi achieved victory in the 2017 edition with Audi squad Land-Motorsport.

The other ROWE entry involves Catsburg, Marco Wittmann, John Edwards and Sheldon van der Linde.

Schubert Motorsport’s crew consists of 2020 winner Alexander Sims, Jens Klingmann and Jesse Krohn.

The BMW Junior Team consisting of Dan Harper, Neil Verhagen and Max Hesse will continue to be supported by BMW M Team RMG for its second N24 attempt in the top SP9 category.

Walkenhorst’s stable will include one Pro-class car, as well as Pro-Am and Am entries.

“The Nürburgring 24 Hours is a race that sets the pulse of any motorsport enthusiast racing so we are all really looking forward to this classic,” said Andreas Roos, head of BMW M Motorsport.

“During the development of the BMW M4 GT3, we gained an awful lot of experience with the car on the Nordschleife. That will now be very valuable to us in the preparations and the race.

“Our BMW M Motorsport works drivers are real Nordschleife experts, as are the teams, therefore we have all the ingredients in place to go into this iconic race with a healthy portion of optimism.”

A total of five BMW M4 GT3s are on the entry list for this weekend’s NLS season-opener.

ROWE Racing is not listed although Walkenhorst, Schubert and the BMW Junior Team are all involved.

Walkenhorst’s lineup for the NLS round includes former Bentley factory driver Andy Soucek in the Pro-class machine alongside Sami-Matti Trogen and 2018 TotalEnergies 24 Hours of Spa winner Christian Krognes.

Another Pro car for Walkenhorst will be driven by Ben Tuck, Joerg Mueller and Friedrich von Bohlen. The team’s Am entry includes von Bohlen, Joerg Breuer and team owner Henry Walkenhorst.

LMP3 ace Niklas Kruetten will drive for Schubert in place of Klingmann, while the BMW Junior Team crew is unchanged.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Nürburgring Endurance